The Great Detective

  • by Roger Johnson
  • Narrated by David Ian Davies
  • 0 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Great Detective, by prominent Sherlock Holmes Society of London member Roger Johnson, offers the Holmesian another perspective on the beloved Canon. From a surrealist perspective, we find here a different and refreshing approach. We are transported to another time through the warmth of an English public house and immediately transfixed by the fascinating voices of those who contributed to the name Sherlock Holmes. This is a must listen for all those worshipers of the great detective.


What the Critics Say

"The Great Detective is great fun. Roger Johnson's play carefully selects vignettes from both the Sherlock Holmes Canon and Conan Doyle's other writing...The play skillfully confuses reality and fiction. David Ian Davies is able to produce a series of wonderfully evocative voices, and the sound effects amuse. This is an excellent production of an enjoyable radio play." (The Baker Street Journal)
"Roger Johnson, editor of the Sherlock Holmes Society of London's journal, knows the Great Detective like few others. Here he has recreated Sherlock Holmes's life and times, in that world where it is always 1895, without sacrificing the real-world role of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle as the character's creator and the stories' author. It is an exemplary audio accomplishment, both by him as writer and by David Ian Davies as narrator, all the more for being highly entertaining at the same time. Both those new to the Sherlock Holmes stories and those who already know them well will enjoy greatly this audible visit to Baker Street through the years. (Jon Lellenberg, U.S. representative of the Conan Doyle Estate)
"The most incredible one-person audio you have heard. Has to be heard to be believed. David Ian Davies creates theatre in a book." (Charles Prepolec, one of the most respected Sherlockians)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-24-2007
  • Publisher: One Voice Recordings