The Girl of His Dreams : Guido Brunetti

  • by Donna Leon
  • Narrated by David Colacci
  • Series: Guido Brunetti
  • 9 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On a rainy morning, not long after the funeral of his mother, Commissario Brunetti and Ispettore Vianello respond to a 911 call reporting a body floating near the steps in one of Venice's side canals. Reaching down to pull it out, Brunetti's wrist is caught by the silkiness of golden hair, and he sees a small foot - together he and Vianello lift a dead girl from the water. But, inconceivably, no one has reported a missing child, nor the theft of the gold jewelry that she carries. So Brunetti is drawn into a search not only for the cause of her death but also for her identity, her family, and for the secrets that people will keep in order to protect their children - be they innocent or guilty. The investigation takes Brunetti from the canals and palazzos of Venice to a Gypsy encampment on the mainland, through quicksands of connections and relationships both known and concealed, as he struggles with both institutional prejudice and entrenched criminality to try to unravel the fate of the dead child.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Slow Started Really Pulls You In

Though slow to start, if you give this novel a chance, you will be drawn in very deeply. The characterizations are strong, the characters fascinating in an intellectually satisfying sense. These are not cardboard people walking around a famous city. They are warm, wry and wonderful. If you like psychological mysteries and can live without action in every paragraph, you will love this. Haunting and memorable. My first Brunetti mystery, not my last.
Read full review

- Alexis

Lacking Pizzaz!

I was hoping for a mystery that would bring the romance and mystery of Venice to life. Instead the book was slow and could have been in any city. It was all right, but I wouldn't highly recommend it.
Read full review

- Valerie F. MacLeod

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.