The Girl Who Lied

  • by Sue Fortin
  • Narrated by Amy De Bhrún
  • 10 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The truth hurts....
Erin and Roisin were friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now Roisin has discovered a secret - one Erin has kept for over a decade - and she's determined to make Erin pay for her lies.
Erin wants nothing to do with Roisin. She has a new life in London and no intention of going back home. Yet when her father is mysteriously and critically injured, Erin has no choice but to return and face Roisin - and her past. Erin knows if the secret of what she gave up got out, the consequences could be devastating.
When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out?
A must-listen for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.

More

What the Critics Say

"Slowly but inexorably draws you in until you can hardly wait to discover the fate of the characters...you'll love Sue Fortin." (Sue Moorcroft)
"A twisty romantic page-turner that will keep you guessing." (Julie Cohen)
"Sue Fortin's gripping books always keep me turning the pages! Highly recommended for fans of grit-lit and suspense!" (Mandy Baggot)
"The suspense, mystery and secrets to be revealed kept me turning the pages...nerve wracking and gripping." (Rachel's Random Reads)
"Kept me intrigued right up until the end...a highly enjoyable read, filled with secrets." (By the Letter Book Reviews)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Overall Mediocre, Slow Moving

I don't think I would describe this book as 'psychological thriller', or even 'suspense'. Instead, it's a run of the mill mystery lacking in those key elements of suspense and twists. The main character is fairly benign, but starts to impress more later in the book. The problem is, you know right from the beginning who the villain is, so there's little surprise in the plot development. There wasn't enough to become invested in. The main character's developing romance with a hometown boy was clumsy and uninteresting. Her ambivalence left me lukewarm. In the end, a little less talk and a little more action would have improved "The Girl Who Lied." Some readers will probably like the atmosphere of the small Ireland town, which was one of the better aspects of the story, and the narration was good. however, overall, I wouldn't really recommend it.
Read full review

- David

So enjoyable

Loved this one. I rarely review books, I can't find the right words. The Girl Who Lied was charming. I'm a total sucker for the Irish accent, I've been to the town in Co Cork that is the setting for the story. I felt the characters and their lives and struggles in a way I rarely do. I enjoyed the mystery, the romance and the atmosphere. It's a light read, I suppose, by most people's standard. I, however, have listened to it twice in 2 days and enjoyed it second only to my favorite audiobook of all time, Can You Keep a Secret. I'm anxious to see if there are more books by this author available.
Read full review

- Susan Winter "romantaholic"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-17-2016
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited