The Eye of the Virgin : Ike Schwartz

  • by Frederick Ramsay
  • Narrated by Lloyd James
  • Series: Ike Schwartz
  • 7 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ike Schwartz is the sheriff of Picketsville, a small town not far from Washington, D.C. A former CIA agent, Ike remains connected to the Agency through a friend who sometimes still involves him in cases on the side. Ike is also courting Ruth, the fiercely independent president of the town’s new university. All this is usually enough to bring some interesting conflicts Ike’s way.
A new one arises when a body is found in Picketsville’s urgent-care clinic, a body sitting in a chair but dead for hours. Perhaps not coincidentally, there is also a break-in at the house of a new university faculty member whose expertise lies in icons. Can a specific icon called the Virgin of Tenderness be the spark to these crimes? Ike figures that any spycraft contained in the picture would be decades old. Or would it?


What the Critics Say

“Absorbing….With folksy charm and dollops of humor, Ramsay crafts a tale of international intrigue in which the past and present make poor bedfellows. Fans of Ruth and Ike’s blossoming romance will find plenty to cheer about.” (Publishers Weekly)
“Sure-footed plotting and easy banter make Ramsay's sixth Sheriff Ike mystery a brisk, entertaining read.” (Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-23-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.