Regular price: $25.09

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.
And look for Alafair Burke's latest heart-racing novel of psychological suspense, The Wife, coming in January 2018.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.
Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night’s party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.
Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?
For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?
©2016 Alafair Burke (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By MarisaReads on 06-21-16

Decent story but didn't grab me

Is there anything you would change about this book?

This book was okay. It is not a standout in terms of the writing, artfully-drawn characters, or super mysterious and thrilling plot. I got through it, but it won't be a memorable one. Comparisons to Gone Girl and even Girl on a Train, which was not a favorite of mine, are a pretty darn big stretch. The writing nor the plot or characters lend themselves to making this book a blockbuster by any means.

Would you be willing to try another book from Alafair Burke? Why or why not?

Yes, now that Ms. Burke is on my radar, I'll keep looking for other books by her that might be good reads.

Which character – as performed by Xe Sands – was your favorite?

I liked Olivia Randall. I thought her character was the main reason to read this book. Watching her change from the beginning of the novel toward the end, raising her confidence and getting into kick-butt lawyer mode, was a kick. As a lawyer myself, I can definitely relate to her struggles.

Do you think The Ex needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Not needed, but can see a sequel due to a pretty good twist at the end.

Any additional comments?

I didn't love it- I could figure out too many parts of the mystery and just wasn't enthralled. But I didn't hate it. If you are a fan of the genre and you've got a credit sitting there, it is worth a try.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful


By Michelle Souza on 05-05-16

Hope to see more by this Author!

What did you love best about The Ex?

It was a great story that unfolded slowly.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Made you want to keep listening to uncover more of the story

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc