The Ex

  • by Alafair Burke
  • Narrated by Xe Sands
  • 7 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder - but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.
Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.
Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife, Molly, by a 15-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.
Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide - and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder - there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is, who would go to such great lengths to frame him - and why?
For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for 20 years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Predictable. Annoying narration.

The first thing that struck me was the narrator. Did not like her low gravely voice. Sometimes was hard to hear.
I was able to connect all of the dots fairly quickly and most of the details just were a waste of time.
Read full review

- Jill

Excellent, really excellent story

Any additional comments?

I find it difficult to try to review this story without giving away many of the surprises of the story. I found the plot really suspenseful and could feel the ending coming but like the proverbial "train wreck" I couldn't put the brakes on to avoid the ending. Alafair Burke is an excellent writer and a really talented storyteller.

Read full review

- Julie "Say something about yourself!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-26-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio