Regular price: $14.97

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

is Swedish crime sensation and number-one international best seller Camilla Läckberg’s new psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø.
Christian Thydell has been receiving anonymous threats since he began writing his novel, The Mermaid. When one message, secreted within a bouquet of flowers, causes him to collapse at the book's launch party, crime writer Erica Falck is compelled to investigate. Erica’s husband, detective Patrik Hedström, meanwhile, is puzzled by the disappearance of Christian’s friend Magnus Kjellner four months previously.
When a body is found frozen in the sea near Fjallbacka, he has a murder enquiry on his hands. Someone carries an intense hatred for Christian and his circle, and they won’t hesitate to turn their threats into reality. Clues in his debut novel, The Mermaid, point to a horrific secret buried deep in his past. One that someone will go to any lengths to keep hidden...
©2012 Camilla Lackberg (P)2012 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Mesmerising.... It’s Läckberg’s particular skill to have created two of the most fully rounded characters in contemporary crime fiction, with a warmth that cuts right through the Nordic chill." (Independent)
"Läckberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror…a must for white-knuckle junkies." (Guardian)
"Läckberg is particularly good at portraying the claustrophobia of a small community in which everyone knows everyone else and the police may well be friends with killers." (The Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By BSquaredInOz on 05-13-12

Not the best of the bunch

Would you try another book from Camilla Lackberg and/or Eamonn Riley?

I've read all six books in this series by Lackberg, the last four of these in audio format narrated by Eammon Riley. I didn't enjoy this instalment quite as much as the earlier ones but I'm happy to give the combination another chance as I did enjoy the earlier books so much (particularly THE ICE PRINCESS and THE HIDDEN CHILD). Riley is a terrific narrator and I do enjoy having the Swedish names pronounced for me :)To me this book took a long while to get going, with almost the first third concerning itself with the day-to-day lives of the series' long-running characters which grew a bit tedious, and the mystery itself was not as strong as with some of the earlier books.

Have you listened to any of Eamonn Riley???s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Only his other narrations of this series which I have enjoyed. This one is up to the usual high standard.

Do you think The Drowning needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

As always Lackberg has left us with a cliff hanger ending which means, I assume, there is another book on the way. I must admit I find this practice a bit annoying but I will read the next one anyway.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Amazon Customer on 11-15-16

Narrator Spoilt the Story

The narrator' s embarrassingly dreadful voices ruined this book for me. Why on earth he felt the need to change his voice for different characters is beyond me. The voices made the characters sound like utter morons. Other things in this book were awful too, no idea why a reader needs a blow by blow description of a pooey nappy being changed or why the narrator changed the pronunciation of the characters name, Erica was Earica, Patrick was another weird one. Don't waste a credit on this boring ridiculous book

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Nom de Plume on 05-10-12

Rather Disappointing

I have read/listened to all the books in the Patrick Hedstrom series by Camilla Lackberg, and up to now I have found them excellent. This book, however, I feel is the weakest so far. While I still enjoyed the interaction of all the various employees of the police station and their family members, the main plot line was quite transparent. I could see the denouement coming a mile away, and was just waiting for it to unravel. There also seemed to be quite a lot of unnecessary filler.

In a nutshell - worth listening to if you enjoy the Patrick Hedstrom novels, but definitely not Lackberg's best.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By Amelia on 07-14-13

Good plot Love the nitty gritty

I have read all of the books translated into English and love them all I think the characters are well rounded and believable and the stories interesting. I love the day to day banter between the characters especially in Patrik's office. I thought the story line was well thought out and it gave me a few surprises in the end. Enjoyed the narrative and felt it helped the story. Recommended read.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc