Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The first novel in the nationally best-selling McCabe and Savage series - perfect for fans of John Sandford and C. J. Box.
Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women....
Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter.
But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought.
On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.
McCabe is certain both crimes are the work of one man - a murderer skilled in cardiac surgery who is using his scalpel to target young women. With the clock ticking, McCabe and his partner, Maggie Savage, find themselves in a desperate race against time to find and rescue the missing woman before she becomes the next victim of the sadistic killer's blade.
©2009 James Hayman (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Me & My Girls on 11-15-15

Okay For A First Book

If I was grading this book I'd give it a good solid C though in my opinion it ran a couple of hours longer than necessary. The lead detective Mike McCabe is an interesting character and his new partner Maggie Savage will take a larger role in future books if the book jackets are indicative she will. There was a large buildup for the return of McCabe's ex-wife to see their daughter, then that storyline just fizzled out. Still, this selection is promising and I will give another audio in the series a try.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Rusty on 11-23-15

Mainely Killers

I might have enjoyed The Cutting if the author had spent more effort developing the main characters McCabe and Savage and less time describing the grisly murders.

McCabe had potential to be an endearing male hero - dedicated single father & brave public servant. However he took crazy risks which a seasoned police officer would not do. Very little background about Savage was given, so she stayed McCabe's trusted partner with no personality of her own.

I thought the murder mystery was too easy to figure out and there were no lighter moments to balance out the graphic violence. Don't care enough to get the next book of series.

Read More Hide me

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc