The Cutting : McCabe & Savage

  • by James Hayman
  • Narrated by Stephen Mendel
  • Series: McCabe & Savage
  • 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first novel in the nationally best-selling McCabe and Savage series - perfect for fans of John Sandford and C. J. Box.
Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women....
Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter.
But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought.
On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.
McCabe is certain both crimes are the work of one man - a murderer skilled in cardiac surgery who is using his scalpel to target young women. With the clock ticking, McCabe and his partner, Maggie Savage, find themselves in a desperate race against time to find and rescue the missing woman before she becomes the next victim of the sadistic killer's blade.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Okay For A First Book

If I was grading this book I'd give it a good solid C though in my opinion it ran a couple of hours longer than necessary. The lead detective Mike McCabe is an interesting character and his new partner Maggie Savage will take a larger role in future books if the book jackets are indicative she will. There was a large buildup for the return of McCabe's ex-wife to see their daughter, then that storyline just fizzled out. Still, this selection is promising and I will give another audio in the series a try.
Read full review

- Me & My Girls

Mainely Killers

I might have enjoyed The Cutting if the author had spent more effort developing the main characters McCabe and Savage and less time describing the grisly murders.

McCabe had potential to be an endearing male hero - dedicated single father & brave public servant. However he took crazy risks which a seasoned police officer would not do. Very little background about Savage was given, so she stayed McCabe's trusted partner with no personality of her own.

I thought the murder mystery was too easy to figure out and there were no lighter moments to balance out the graphic violence. Don't care enough to get the next book of series.
Read full review

- Rusty

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-06-2015
  • Publisher: HarperAudio