The Cutting : McCabe & Savage

  • by James Hayman
  • Narrated by Stephen Mendel
  • Series: McCabe & Savage
  • 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first novel in the nationally best-selling McCabe and Savage series - perfect for fans of John Sandford and C. J. Box.
Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women....
Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter.
But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought.
On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.
McCabe is certain both crimes are the work of one man - a murderer skilled in cardiac surgery who is using his scalpel to target young women. With the clock ticking, McCabe and his partner, Maggie Savage, find themselves in a desperate race against time to find and rescue the missing woman before she becomes the next victim of the sadistic killer's blade.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Is It The Story? Or Its Telling? Hmmmm...

This isn't a really clever, 0r new plot. It's filled with the sort of furniture that mystery readers expect. Uh-huh. But it's told by James Hayman so easily, you know, the way terrific golfers work around a legendary course. Sure we've seen the same holes, and even the same lies... Yet, leading pros face, then make shots that leave us appreciating every one.

Anyway, that's what Hayman can do... And besides, just visiting one of those courses is fun. I liked "The Cutting" that way. It's a commercial performed well by Stephen Mendel. Yep, I'll look for Hayman to let Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage grow in this series.

The guy can tell a story.
Read full review

- Ted "Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination."

A very different serial killer novel

The Cutting is Book 1 of the 4 book McCabe and Savage detective series by James Hayman. I earlier posted reviews here at Audible for Books 4 and 2. Book 2 is the best of the three books, but The Cutting is the most interesting. The novel is about young athletic people, mostly women, being kidnapped and having their hearts cut out with the skill of a surgeon while they are still alive. I'm not going to describe the cases further because it would ruin the story for the listener.

Stephen Mendel narrates all four novels in the series. He is excellent.

I recommend this series and look forward to listening to Book 3 which is the highest rated.
Read full review

- Wayne "I love espionage, legal, and detective thrillers but listen to most genres. Very frequent reviews. No plot spoilers! Please excuse my typos!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-06-2015
  • Publisher: HarperAudio