The Crow Trap : Vera Stanhope

  • by Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by Anne Dover
  • Series: Vera Stanhope
  • 14 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Three very different women come together to complete an environmental survey. Three women who, in some way or another, know the meaning of betrayal....
For team leader Rachael Lambert, the project is the perfect opportunity to rebuild her confidence after a double betrayal by her lover and boss, Peter Kemp. Botanist Anne Preece, on the other hand, sees it as a chance to indulge in a little deception of her own. And then there is Grace Fulwell, a strange, uncommunicative young woman with plenty of her own secrets to hide....
When Rachael arrives at the cottage, however, she is horrified to discover the body of her friend Bella Furness. Bella, it appears, has committed suicide - a verdict Rachael finds impossible to accept.
Only when the next death occurs does a fourth woman enter the picture - the unconventional Detective Inspector Vera Stanhope, who must piece together the truth from these women's tangled lives.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Worth the Wait

I love this series. I'm pretty skeptical of a female detective novels because I feel like they all fill the same formula. But Vera has always been different. I enjoyed this story in particular because it allowed the main players in the narrative to be fully developed. I liked that we didn't get to hear Vera's voice until the climax. We've heard Vera's background story at nauseum in the earlier books so allowing her character to be a side player rather than the central figure was a refreshing way to progress the story. The plot was slightly unbelievable, but over all it was well worth the credit and kept me guessing until the end.
Read full review

- Marina

Great Vera!

I'm a big Vera fan but had never listened to this one. It's amazing. Well developed characters, proper number of red herrings, and intriguing plot. Loved it!
Read full review

- J. Ellis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-21-2017
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio