The Crooked House

  • by Christobel Kent
  • Narrated by Rachel Atkins
  • 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story.
Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard, this stunning psychological thriller follows one woman's search for the truth about her family history. Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: With no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: Once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought.
Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.
As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

More

What the Critics Say

"An utterly compulsive psychological thriller. I loved it." (SJ Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep, on The Crooked House)
"Brilliant...A spooky, gripping and affecting story." (Louise Doughty, author of Apple Tree Yard, in the Guardian)
"Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell." (Sunday Mirror)
"Echoes of Christie and du Maurier in this fine thriller." (Sunday Times)
"Demands to be devoured in one sitting." (Good Housekeeping)

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-23-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK