The China Governess : Albert Campion

  • by Margery Allingham
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • Series: Albert Campion
  • 10 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Timothy Kinnit needs Albert Campion's help. He is rich, handsome and successful but his past is a mystery to him and he needs Campion to find out how it connects him to the notorious Turk Street Mile slum.
In addition, his own illustrious adopted family has a sinister secret of his own - involving a murderous 19th-century governess - that must also be brought to life by Campion's investigations. An Albert Campion mystery.


What the Critics Say

"Margery Allingham has worked her way up to a worthy place among the tiny hierarchy of front-rankers in the detective world" (Tatler)
"One of the finest 'golden age' crime novelists" (Sunday Telegraph)
"Faultless" (The Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Allingham's always good, but this one's confusing

Would you consider the audio edition of The China Governess to be better than the print version?

Have not read the print version.

Would you recommend The China Governess to your friends? Why or why not?

Yes, I enjoyed this book, although I found it the most confusing of all the Campion books. I am reading them all in order, and will grieve when they are done.

Which character – as performed by David Thorpe – was your favorite?

I liked Julia so much, as I find young people with firm, strong personalities and self-knowledge to be refreshing.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Might have been less confusing if I had. Yes.

Any additional comments?

Although "legend" has it that Allingham wrote these novels as an imitation of Dorothy Sayers, she was immensely talented. Campion is a fantastic character and the sense of atmosphere, especially over the decades, is thorough. Allingham IS as good as Sayers, and that is saying a huge amount in my book!

David Thorpe, as always, is non-traditional and excellent.

Read full review

- Lissa

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-11-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios