Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A no-nonsense detective is on the trail of the sharpest and deadliest criminal mind he has ever encountered: a serial robber who murders any and all witnesses in cold-blood.
©2007 Clive Cussler (P)2007 Penguin
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Cussler takes a breather from his several ongoing series with this historical thriller set in the western states, circa 1906. The U.S. government hires the renowned Van Dorn Detective Agency and its equally renowned lead agent, Isaac Bell, to capture the bank robber known as the Butcher Bandit....Once San Francisco gets hit by the 1906 earthquake and the principals climb aboard a pair of fire-breathing locomotives, the novel cranks up a head of steam and some high-speed thrills." ( Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By ftmgal on 04-05-15

Excellent Opener to Cussler's Isaac Bell Series

One of Cussler's best written books. In this book, he introduces his new character named Isaac Bell, who is a detective for a large detective agency in the early 1900's.

The plot involves a highly successful bank robber who never leaves witnesses. Or at least he tries not to!

Excellent characters, plot, and adventure. Perhaps I learned a bit too much about railroads and communication via telegraph. But it's always such a pleasure to listen to Scott Brick's narration, I really didn't mind.

Read More Hide me

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 12-07-15

Not Cussler's best

Clive Cussler has been writing and coauthoring historical thrillers for over 40 years and he has a large and faithful following or readers. 24 of his 60+ unabridged novels in English are available at Audible in audiobook format. Many are narrated by Scott Brick, my favorite narrator.

The Chase is Book 1 in the 8 novel Isaac Bell series. It is well worth listening to, but it is not a good as most Cussler novels. My advice is to start listening to Cussler with his Dirk Pitt novels seven of which are available in audiobook format.

Read More Hide me

36 of 39 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc