The Chase : Isaac Bell

  • by Clive Cussler
  • Narrated by Richard Ferrone
  • Series: Isaac Bell
  • 6 hrs and 2 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A no-nonsense detective is on the trail of the sharpest and deadliest criminal mind he has ever encountered: a serial robber who murders any and all witnesses in cold-blood. Another remarkable adventure from the limitless imagination of Clive Cussler.


What the Critics Say

"Cussler takes a breather from his several ongoing series with this historical thriller set in the western states, circa 1906. The U.S. government hires the renowned Van Dorn Detective Agency and its equally renowned lead agent, Isaac Bell, to capture the bank robber known as the Butcher Bandit....Once San Francisco gets hit by the 1906 earthquake and the principals climb aboard a pair of fire-breathing locomotives, the novel cranks up a head of steam and some high-speed thrills." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Audio Book

If you could sum up The Chase in three words, what would they be?

Exciting story, Beginning fit the ending. Very cool

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Yes Just did not know how it would end.

Which character – as performed by Richard Ferrone – was your favorite?

Det Bell, very interesting personality

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Yes I could see it done and would like it to be an Detective Bell Series.

Any additional comments?


Read full review

- USA Buyer


My first and certainly last Cussler. This book consists of a sequence of clichés. The story has absolutely no originality, everything reads/sounds familiar. At the end of the 19th century some of the ideas might have been innovative (see Sherlock Holmes) but seriously writing this at the beginning of the 21st century is an insult to the reader. The characters are flat, stereotype and implausible. Very disappointing. Reader = OK.
Read full review

- Hans

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-06-2009
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio