The Cavanaugh Quest

  • by Thomas Gifford
  • Narrated by Sean Pratt
  • 15 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Backwoods treachery links a string of grisly Minnesota murders. Reporter Paul Cavanaugh is coming home from an afternoon tennis match when he sees an ambulance outside his building’s door. A half hour earlier, the mild-mannered Larry Blankenship walked into the lobby, said hello to the doorman, and blew his brains out in front of the elevator bank, leaving behind a note apologizing for the mess. Cavanaugh retreats to his apartment to forget this disturbing scene, thinking the story is over when the police take away the body. But the suicide is only the beginning.
A knot of death is tied tight around Blankenship’s wife, Kim, an ice-cold beauty from the backwoods of northern Minnesota. As he investigates the string of deaths, Cavanaugh discovers a decades-old atrocity that may explain why the men who know Kim vanish faster than a sunny day in Minneapolis.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not for me

I made it through chapter 7. I tried hard to get into this story but so far, the narration drives me nuts - 90% he is monotone and within the monotone narration he pauses mid sentence in some attempt to give that word some emphasis but fails miserably because of the total lack of change of tone in his voice.
Maybe this story gets better along the way but I'm giving up. The writer is very descriptive and I love when a writer paints a picture of who his characters are but the drab presentation just makes me want to scream "Get on with it and get on with the plot!"
Not that I should only be smacking the narrator around, I feel the writer spent too much time detailing minute nuances of the characters rather than taking the time to grab my attention with more suspense. The fact that people were mysteriously dying drew my attention from the story's summary, but was not enough to hold my attention within the first seven chapters.
Read full review

- Joy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-17-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios