The Candidate's Daughter

  • by Catherine Lea
  • Narrated by Amy Tallmadge
  • 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The plan is simple: kidnap the daughter of Senate candidate Richard McClaine, take the money and run. Nobody gets hurt, the kid goes home alive.
Twenty-two-year-old car thief Kelsey Money thinks it's the worst idea Matt and his drug-fueled brother have ever come up with. But Matt's the planner. He's the one Kelsey has always depended on.
Then, she discovers she only knew half the plan. By the time she finds out the rest, she's been framed for murder, and six-year-old Holly McClaine won't be found alive.
Across town, Elizabeth McClaine has no idea what her daughter was wearing when she disappeared. When Holly was born with Down syndrome and a cleft palate, Elizabeth placed her only child in the care of a nanny while she fought postpartum depression.
But when Holly is kidnapped and Elizabeth discovers the detective leading the hunt has already failed one kidnapped child, Elizabeth knows she cannot fail hers.
Now, both women have 24 hours to find Holly. Because in 25, she'll be dead.
The Candidate's Daughter and its sequel Child of the State are additions to the great action and character-driven mystery thrillers in the tradition of J.D. Robb, Faye Kellerman, and Mary Clark Higgins.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Candidate's Daughter--A Fantastic Listen

What made the experience of listening to The Candidate's Daughter the most enjoyable?

It is an exciting book with well-written characters. The author is a great story teller. The narrator gives an excellent performance. In all this is just a great book.


Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Yes, first the characters are very likable and well written. The story is fast paced and has many unforeseen plot twists. Kelsy and the Candidate's wife are wonderful protagonists. They are both fighters and meet their challenges head on. This book captures the amazing experience of knowing a Down's syndrome child and the joy they bring.


What does Amy Tallmadge bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She gives each character a unique voice. Each character is an individual and sounds like it. It is easy to follow and very edge of your seat. I especially like the voices of Holly and Kelsy.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Definitely, but it is a little too long for that. It is very suspenseful and keeps you engaged all the way to the surprising end.


Any additional comments?

Includes swearing, but in a realistic lifestyle way rather than graphic. Touching and inspiring book. I received this book for free in exchange for a fair review.

Read full review

- pixledust

ENGAGING, INTRIGUING & RIVETING - GREAT READ!!

Would you consider the audio edition of The Candidate's Daughter to be better than the print version?

I have not read the print version so I am unable to compare the two. However, I do not believe I could have brought the story to life the way in the way that Amy Tallmadge managed to do for me.


What did you like best about this story?

This story was written extremely well. Excellent and interesting characters. The story peaked my interest from the beginning and maintained it throughout. With so many twists and turns, I was unable to determine who was responsible until it was revealed to me. It is very rare that I manage to find a book where I am unable to determine "who done it" but this book managed to do just that. I also enjoyed the narration by Amy Tallmadge. She has great cadence and inflection. Also, she manages to give each character a unique voice that separates them from each other. Not all narrators can do this. For example, I lose interest in the characters and sometimes the story when a narrator is not able to provide a different voice for more than 1 female/male character. That is simply not the case here ... Amy is superb! This is the first time I have heard Amy narrate and will be looking for more of her narrations in future purchases.


Which scene was your favorite?

There was no one scene in particular that was my favorite. I enjoyed the whole story immensely.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes ... this is definitely a story I would have wanted to listen to all in one sitting but I also like for my books to last me a couple of days. I usually do not purchase audiobooks that are abridged or less than 10 hours. If I spend money on a book, I don't want to finish it in a couple of hours. It wouldn't be worth the purchase to me. However, if I was to listen to a book all in one sitting ... this would have definitely been one I would have done that with.


Any additional comments?

"This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of AudiobookBoom dot com."

Read full review

- Elaine M.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-18-2016
  • Publisher: ListenUp Audiobooks