• The Butchers of Berlin

  • By: Chris Petit
  • Narrated by: Allan Corduner
  • Length: 14 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 09-22-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
  • 2 out of 5 stars 2.0 (1 rating)

Regular price: $15.34

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.34

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Robert Harris, David Peace, and Joseph Kanon - a taut, gripping, and darkly menacing novel set in wartime Berlin.
Berlin, 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye, then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him?
Corpses dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: Are these routine murders committed out of rage, or is someone trying to tell them something?
©2016 Chris Petit (P)2016 Simon & Schuster
Show More Show Less

No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Jane on 04-04-18

Hello, who are you again?

So many people. There’s only so many times you want to skip back to work out who’s who. Still a bit lost tbh. It’s not bad, but I like the basics in place.
Oh, and you know the line about “ I don’t care who dies as long as the dog lives”? Well, a variation on that. Multiple times. Glad to be vegan at times like this.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By John on 09-19-17

Not for the Faint Hearted

If you suffer from a weak constitution avoid this book.

Berlin, 1943, is a city of shortages, corruption, witch hunts, air raids and general depravity, where order is at once kept and disrupted by the relentless application of extreme violence. This version of the city supplies the backdrop for a treatment of "noir" that honours the genre's dark, crumbling, uncertain surfaces, its characterisation of an all too flawed detective and its microscopic scrutiny of female morals.

The book is a veritable slaughterhouse of violence. The qualifications for attempting it are in the order of having read and enjoyed David Peace's "Red Riding Quartet". But those with the required constitution might be rewarded with the fascination of difficult detection and the salutary warning of the consequences of history gone wrong.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews