Regular price: $10.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When Althea Leary abandons her nine-year-old son, Jasper, he's left on his uncle's farm with nothing but a change of clothes and a Bible.
It's 1952, and Jasper isn't allowed to ask questions or make a fuss. He's lucky to even have a home and must keep his mouth shut and his ears open to stay in his uncle's good graces. No one knows where his mother went or whether she's coming back. Desperate to see her again, he must take matters into his own hands. From the farm, he embarks on a treacherous search that will take him to the squalid hideaways of Detroit and back again, through tawdry taverns, peep shows, and gambling houses.
As he's drawn deeper into an adult world of corruption, scandal, and murder, Jasper uncovers the shocking past still chasing his mother - and now it's chasing him too.
©2016 D. M. Pulley (P)2016 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Cartec on 02-02-17


I thought The Dead Key was one of the best books I had read by this author, at least until I read this one. This story was complicated, and intricate to the point I worried how she was going to keep it all straight. She did and the results were a story that should taken to the screen. There was mystery, intrigue, ignorance, compassion, tension and fear. The author took the listener to a time in American life that anyone over the age of fifty can identify with but those under fifty can learn and be entertained. I can't recommend this book strongly enough. I will warn some that there is some child abuse in the story but it is an integral part of the story and could not be written out without the story suffering. The writer is adept in her inclusion that you understand why and how these things happened in fifties America. It went on it is necessary that we always be aware of some of the darker areas of our history.

Luke Daniels strikes again. He brought the book to life without being intrusive. I was hardly aware that he was there because the story was so intense. His performance was outstanding.

Read More Hide me

54 of 58 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 08-26-16

Wonderful historical mystery!

DM Pulley's second book does not disappoint. Her first book, the historical mystery The Dead Key, came as a complete surprise. The Buried Book is completely different, but just as good. In 1952 nine year old Jasper Leary has seemingly been abandoned by his mother Athea who leaves him with her brother and his family. The novel is about the hardships Jasper faces as he searches for his mother. Luke Daniels narrates brilliantly as did Emily Sutton-Smith with The Dead Key. DM Pulley is an author worth watching. Brilliance Audio deserves credit for their outstanding selection of narrators for her two audiobook novels.

I recommend this book and this author.

Read More Hide me

57 of 63 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Honeybee on 03-01-18

The Buried Book

I would recommend this book to any one.
A good well thought out story. Told through a child’s eyes. Could not put it down.
The narrator was brilliant, bringing everything to life.
Hope they do many more together.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc