The Boy Who Could See Demons

  • by Carolyn Jess-Cooke
  • Narrated by Bruce Mann, Carolyn Jess-Cooke
  • 10 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling author Carolyn Jess-Cooke has written a brilliant novel of suspense that delves into the recesses of the human mind and soul - perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Lisa Unger. The Boy Who Could See Demons follows a child psychologist who comes up against a career-defining case - one that threatens to unravel her own painful past and jeopardizes the life of a boy who can see the impossible.
Dr. Anya Molokova, a child psychiatrist, is called in to work at MacNeice House, an adolescent mental health treatment center. There she is told to observe and assess Alex Connolly, a keenly intelligent, sensitive ten-year-old coping with his mother's latest suicide attempt. Alex is in need of serious counseling: He has been harming himself and others, often during blackouts. At the root of his destructive behavior, Alex claims, is his imaginary "friend" Ruen, a cunning demon who urges Alex to bend to his often violent will.
But Anya has seen this kind of behavior before - with her own daughter, Poppy, who suffered from early-onset schizophrenia. Determined to help Alex out of his darkness, Anya begins to treat the child. But soon strange and alarming coincidences compel Anya to wonder: Is Alex's condition a cruel trick of the mind? Or is Ruen not so make-believe after all? The reality, it turns out, is more terrifying than anything she has ever encountered.
A rich and deeply moving pause-resistor, The Boy Who Could See Demons sets out to challenge the imagination and capture the way life takes unexpected turns. In the best storytelling tradition, it leaves the listener changed.

More

What the Critics Say

"A psychologically complex thriller, told with compassion in a marvelously suspenseful narrative that keeps you engaged from the first page to the last.... This book has it all: a dark and dangerous setting, characters full of depth, rich emotions, and a clever plot. You'll fall in love with Alex - and his demons." (Chevy Stevens, author of Still Missing)
"Top-notch psychological suspense.... Beware what you think you know. It might be only the demons talking." Lisa Gardner, author of Touch & Go)
"Brilliant! Rich with fully formed characters, this heart-gripping novel will keep you riveted from first page to last." (Jeffery Deaver, author of XO)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

HOLY COW!!! Give me more, please!!!

Any additional comments?

This book was worth the credit, for sure. I love to read or listen to a variety of books, but this one is at the top of my list. The narration was performed by male and female characters, in Irish dialect. This was different for me, and I was a little unsure if I could get used to the male character. However, as the male character developed, it was perfect for this complex boy. The only complaint for me is it had to come to an end! I am seldom as intrigued by books, but this one hooked me from the beginning. Until the very end, I kept asking "where is this going"? And, trust me, it is worth the wait. I would advise others that while this book centers around the unique relationship this boy has with demons that only he can see, it isn't like any horror story I've listened to. It had a creepiness all its own, without leaving me terrified. Kudos to the author, performers, and Audible!

Read full review

- Mary

good book

loved the whole book but hated the ending so I gave it five stars because it was captivating cover to almost cover.
Read full review

- Amanda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-13-2013
  • Publisher: Random House Audio