The Book of the Dead : Pendergast

  • by Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
  • Narrated by Scott Brick
  • Series: Pendergast
  • 15 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The New York Museum of Natural History receives their pilfered gem collection back, ground down to dust. Diogenes, the psychotic killer who stole them in Dance of Death, is throwing down the gauntlet to both the city and to his brother, FBI Agent Pendergast, who is currently incarcerated in a maximum security prison. To quell the PR nightmare of the gem fiasco, the museum decides to reopen the Tomb of Senef. An astounding Egyptian temple, it was a popular museum exhibit until the 1930s, when it was quietly closed. But when the tomb is unsealed in preparation for its gala reopening, the killings, and whispers of an ancient curse, begin again. And the catastrophic opening itself sets the stage for the final battle between the two brothers: an epic clash from which only one will emerge alive.


What the Critics Say

"Another gripping, action-packed page-turner...with a tantalizing, ominous twist at the end." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Out of Order

Like other readers, I was unaware of this being the third in a series until I had finished it, and was advised in the epilog of the best order to read these. I am reading #2 at this moment, and while I know where it goes in the future, it is still good to fill in the blanks. Very well written.
An advisor in the initial book summary would steer readers to have these poresented in a more complete manner.
Read full review

- J. Bliss

Perfect follow-up! A+++

Months ago I listened to previous book, "Dance of Death" and found it intriguing and suspenseful. This book gives you an extremely rare opportunity to know the villain's alter-ego way before the characters even catch a whiff. The villain is uniquely twisted individual! Brick does a masterful job with these characters. A satisfying read ... make sure you read the other one first. A tiny complaint that the last portion of the book could have been more tighter.
Read full review

- Alex

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-01-2006
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio