Regular price: $17.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An elegant thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried.
When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the late 1980s, documenting his relationship with the protégée of the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. One night just before Christmas 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home. The case was never solved. Now, 25 years later, Katz suspects that Richard Flynn is either using his book to confess to the murder or to finally reveal who committed the violent crime.
But the manuscript ends abruptly - and its author is dying in the hospital with the missing pages nowhere to be found. Hell-bent on getting to the bottom of the story, Katz hires investigative journalist John Keller to research the murder and reconstruct the events for a true crime version of the memoir. Keller tracks down several of the mysterious key players, including retired police detective Roy Freeman, one of the original investigators assigned to the murder case, but he has just been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's. Inspired by John Keller's investigation, he decides to try and solve the case once and for all, before he starts losing control of his mind. A trip to the Potosi Correctional Centre in Missouri, several interviews, and some ingenious police work finally lead him to a truth that has been buried for over two decades...or has it?
Stylishly plotted, elegantly written, and packed with thrilling suspense until the final moments, The Book of Mirrors is a book within a book like you've never encountered before.
©2017 RightsFactory SRL. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Judith on 02-23-17

Engaging

After trying a couple clunkers I really needed something to keep my attention and give me a sense of spending time and credits for value. This book was a gamble, just released and no reviews yet. I finished it in one day. Very satisfying.

Read More Hide me

13 of 13 people found this review helpful


By LaFaye on 04-05-17

A good listen, but disappointing ending

Is there anything you would change about this book?

The ending could have had a twist. Some plot points seemed to hang.

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

Disappointing ending. I think the author got tired of writing.

Did the narrators do a good job differentiating all the characters? How?

Narrator was adequate and easy to listen to.

Do you think The Book of Mirrors needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Doesn't need a follow up because the story ended without any build up to another "chapter".

Any additional comments?

I liked the premise of a story within a story. It was an ambitious goal! I appreciated the minimal foul language very much. The story was compelling up until the last chapters. But when I was expecting a twist, it just ended. Most disappointing.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc