The Bone Orchard : Mike Bowditch

  • by Paul Doiron
  • Narrated by Henry Levya
  • Series: Mike Bowditch
  • 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the aftermath of a family tragedy, Mike Bowditch has left the Maine Warden Service and is working as a fishing guide in the North Woods. But when his mentor, Sgt. Kathy Frost, is forced to kill a troubled war veteran in an apparent case of "suicide by cop", he begins having second thoughts about his decision. Now Kathy finds herself the target of a government inquiry and outrage from the dead soldier’s platoon-mates. Soon she finds herself in the sights of a sniper, as well. When the sergeant is shot outside her farmhouse, Mike joins the hunt to find the mysterious man responsible. To do so, the ex-warden must plunge into his friend’s secret past - even as a beautiful woman from Mike’s own past returns, throwing into jeopardy his tentative romance with wildlife biologist Stacey Stevens. As Kathy Frost lies on the brink of death and a dangerous shooter stalks the blueberry barrens of central Maine, Bowditch is forced to confront the choices he has made and determine, once and for all, the kind of man he truly is.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

wonderful book by a favorite author

Doiron's books started great and they keep getting better. Our hero, Mike Bowditch, is at a low point in his life. When a devoted mentor is shot, Mike adds some of his injured friend's burdens to his ongoing efforts to care for an absent friend's family. On this course, clues about the shooter start showing up.
I love how the exigencies of solving a crime are interwoven with Mike's day-to-day efforts to both be a good man and become a better man.
I love spending time with this hero and with the friends he gathers around him. I love seeing Maine natural beauty and gentle friendliness through the lenses of Mike and the author.
I highly recommend all the Mike Bowditch stories.
Read full review

- J. Jackson

great book

as usual I enjoyed this series, always looking forward to the next one! check it out
Read full review

- D. Marin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-15-2014
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio