The Bloomsday Dead : Michael Forsythe

  • by Adrian McKinty
  • Narrated by Gerard Doyle
  • Series: Michael Forsythe
  • 11 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this concluding book of Adrian McKinty's highly praised Dead series, Michael Forsythe confronts his former lover and archrival, Bridget, a New York Irish Mob boss.Michael has survived his infiltration of an IRA splinter cell in Boston, and now, his many near fatal wounds healed, he begins his next adventure as manager of hotel security in Lima, Peru. It is there that he is contacted by Bridget, whose fiancé he killed.
Bridget, calling from Dublin, says that her 11-year-old daughter has been kidnapped. Michael's choice is to fly to Dublin and help her find the girl, or be executed at the hands of Bridget's goons, who are holding him at gunpoint. He agrees to nothing, but is soon on the way to Dublin, leaving the first two of many dead bodies in his wake.


What the Critics Say

"[H]is most visceral, satisfying effort yet....McKinty writes masterful action scenes, and he whips up a frenzy as the bullets begin to fly." (Publishers Weekly)
"[O]utpaces its immediate predecessor, The Dead Yard...with [McKinty's] trademark dark lyricism, one great red herring, and a masterful plot twist that brings Forsythe's character full circle in a lightning flash." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

SIX STARS ******

After slogging through a number of adequate audible books recently, I jumped at the opportunity to acquire the latest McKinty. I was so taken with the first chapter that I called my husband when I reached the end of the first chapter just to revel in the fine writing and reading. Today, I hit my parking space near the end of the first download and sat in the lot until the chapter ended. There is absolutely no better combination of writer and reader in the Audible library!

If you have not listened to any of the other McKintys, do NOT start with this one. Do the "Dead" series in sequence.
Read full review

- Johnnie Walker

Another Amazing Book

Adrian McKinty has fast become one of my favorite authors and Gerard Doyle is a spectacular narrator. This third installment of the Michael Forsythe series is tremendous. It would be useful to have listened/read to the two prior installments, and absolutely essential to have read Dead I May Well Be before Bloomsday Dead. I will be in serious withdrawal until McKinty comes out with his next book.
Read full review

- Jason Feinstein

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-06-2007
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.