Regular price: $34.22

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $34.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Number one New York Times best-selling author Daniel Silva delivers another spellbinding international thriller - one that finds the legendary Gabriel Allon grappling with an ISIS mastermind.
Gabriel Allon, the art restorer, spy, and assassin described as the most compelling fictional creation "since Ian Fleming put down his martini and invented James Bond" (Rocky Mountain News), is poised to become the chief of Israel's secret intelligence service. But on the eve of his promotion, events conspire to lure him into the field for one final operation. ISIS has detonated a massive bomb in the Marais district of Paris, and a desperate French government wants Gabriel to eliminate the man responsible before he can strike again.
Acclaimed novelist Daniel Silva has thrilled, entertained, and educated listeners with 18 thoughtful and gripping spy novels featuring a diverse cast of compelling characters and ingenious plots that have taken them around the globe and back - from the United States to Europe, Russia to the Middle East. From its shocking opening to its explosive denouement in Washington, DC, The Black Widow reveals itself as Silva's most timely and powerful novel yet. Following the success of his smash hit The English Spy, this electrifying thriller showcases Silva's consummate skill and brilliant imagination and is sure to be a must-listen for his multitude of current and future fans.
©2016 Daniel Silva (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"The audio brotherhood of narrator George Guidall and Silva's spy Gabriel Allon is hard to beat.... George Guidall's skilled storytelling and his ease with accents and pace are just two specific elements that can be pinpointed in the success of this audiobook. Beyond these, a subtle combination of astute skill and experience creates the best possible listening." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Walter Glenn Viers on 07-18-16

WGV

Silvia's best Gabriel Allon novel yet. It could not be more timely and gives new meaning to the phrase "life imitating art." While I generally suggest those new to the Allon-series start with The Kill Artist, to understand the development of the the characters, I would make an exception for The Black Widow because it's subject matter is so timely. A very important piece of fiction which hopefully will be read and taken seriously by those in responsible positions within our government.

Read More Hide me

17 of 17 people found this review helpful


By Victor @ theAudiobookBlog on 07-17-16

The Prince of Fire is back

What made the experience of listening to The Black Widow the most enjoyable?

The amazing performance by George Guidall

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Yes. Brilliantly written

Which character – as performed by George Guidall – was your favorite?

Gabriel Allon and the entire Office Team

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Yes

Any additional comments?

It’s July and that means the time has come for another Gabriel Allon adventure from the #1 New York Times Best-selling and award-winning thriller author Daniel Silva.<br/><br/>Before I tell you about the book and about the perfect performance delivered by ‘‘Narrator of the Year” George Guidall, I have to confess that I’ve experienced all the books released so far by Mr Silva, in audiobook format and I loved them all. Now, after I finished with The Black Widow: Gabriel Allon, book 16, I am left eagerly awaiting his upcoming thriller, probably next year, hopefully.<br/><br/>The terrible events that take place in The Black Widow are so close to real life terrorist attacks that the narrative experienced became a disturbing one immediately after the author’s note, at the beginning of the book. The story follows art restorer, spy and assassin Gabriel Allon and his team of special operators for the Israeli secret organisation known as The Office as they try to take down ISIS ) the Islamic State of the Iraq and Syria). Without me giving away key plot points, you need to know that after an attack in Paris, similar to the one that took place in November 2015, the French secret services call upon Gabriel to find a way of infiltrating the ISIS network and preventing upcoming attacks.<br/><br/>Daniel Silva is without a doubt one of the best thriller and espionage writers out there and The Black Widow is his best book yet, in my humble opinion… The plot is complex and brilliantly written, the characters feel alive, for me at least, after reading all the previous 15 books, they were like returning members of my own family. The way that the author describes the recruitment tactics of the terrorist and the poor unstable souls that fall prey to them is just heartbreaking. This is a thriller, yes, and a great adventure story, but at its heart The Black Widow is a book about the way bad things happen to good people… a dramatic, terrifying, pulse pounding race to save innocent lives… The action will take you at breakneck speeds from France to Iraq, from Israel to Jordan, from Netherlands to Syria and than to the United States. You will not be able to stop listening, you will not sleep, you will not take breaks, you’ll just want to discover what happens next!<br/><br/>Near the end, I found myself keeping my breath, being scared, thinking about how these terrible acts of war and terrorism could become reality, in our world, not at all different from the one depicted in the pages of this book..<br/><br/>Fans of Homeland and Munich will feel right at home reading this fantastic thriller!<br/><br/>The Black Widow is brought to life as an audiobook by one of the best actors, voice over artists and narrators in the Audiobook Industry. His name is George Guidall and if you are familiar with the Audies Awards you’ll probably remember that he won one Audie for Male Narrator of the Year for his performance of The English Spy: Gabriel Allon, book 15, also by Daniel Silva.<br/><br/>George Guidall reads in a calm and soothing cadence, uses different voices and appropriate accents for all the characters and by doing so it keeps everyone clearly differentiated in the listener’s mind. You will just know who is speaking by the French, Jewish, British or Arabic accents employed is his perfect performance. He is one of my favourites narrators of all times and in my mind he is Gabriel Allon, Sheriff Walt Longmire, Mitch Rapp and The Gunslinger from the Dark Tower series.<br/><br/>I know that some of you may wonder which version of The Black Widow to grab. Well, in that case all I can tell you is that if you go with the audiobook you’ll be blown away, in a good way, and highly entertained by one of the best voices in the Audiobook Industry.<br/><br/>Silva fan or newcomer to the series, you’ll enjoy The Black Widow because it is, hands down, one of the best espionage thrillers of 2016! I was left with a lot of food for thought after the almost 14 hours long audio experience and I’m sure the book will be an instant bestseller!<br/><br/>Read more reviews like this one at theAudiobookBlog dot com and please vote Yes below if you found this review helpful.<br/>Thank you,<br/>Victor

Read More Hide me

58 of 62 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Suva Chattopadhyay on 09-14-16

First Silva in Audio Book for me😊

This is the first audio book I have finished. I am more of a reader than a listener. My first experience is interesting. George Guidall has a great voice and awesome voice modulation which keeps the story alive with its real flavour. Sometimes his accent is little difficult to manage. It was a great first experience.

Read More Hide me

By Churchill1940 on 08-28-16

One of Silva's best works

As usual George does a brilliant job of portraying the different characters in the book. There is no one better than he who can bring a book alive. It is that you are sitting amongst the characters and you are drawn into the story. Which is so life like you are looking from the inside, out. Brilliant maestro, Brilliant. Should be read by all.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Janette on 07-14-16

The Black Widow

This is an awesome book that has scarcely close to
what is happening around the world.
I throughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews