Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Washington, DC, lawyer and a frequent major media commentator on the Supreme Court, Anthony Franze delivers a high-stakes story of family, power, loss, and revenge set within the insular world of the highest court of our country.
Among Washington, DC, power players, everyone has secrets they desperately want to keep hidden, including Sean Serrat, a Supreme Court lawyer.
Sean transformed his misspent youth into a model adulthood and now has one of the most respected legal careers in the country. But just as he learns he's on the short list to be nominated to the US Supreme Court, his daughter, Abby, a talented and dedicated law student, goes missing. Abby's lifeless body is soon found in the library of the Supreme Court, and her boyfriend, Malik Montgomery, a law clerk at the high court, is immediately arrested.
The ensuing media frenzy leads to allegations that Malik's arrest was racially motivated, sparking a national controversy. While the Serrat family works through their grief, Sean begins to suspect the authorities arrested the wrong person. Delving into the mysteries of his daughter's last days, Sean stumbles over secrets within his own family as well as the lies of some of the most powerful people in the country. People who will stop at nothing to ensure that Sean never exposes the truth.
Please note: This audiobook features an exclusive interview with the author.
©2016 Anthony Franze (P)2016 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Smart, sophisticated, suspenseful, and written with real insider authenticity. A winner." (Lee Child)
"[T]he 'best of the best' when it comes to suspense." ( Suspense Magazine)
"This fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Brad Meltzer, Joseph Finder, and Scott Turow." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By shelley on 01-12-18

Many thanks...

To Audible reviewer Wayne. I had looked at this book and didn't think it would be much of anything. However, after reading his glowing review I decided it was worth a try. It was and is for anyone wondering. Very good book with wonderful narration by Robert Petkoff.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

Read More Hide me

28 of 28 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 03-22-16

Marvelous legal thriller! Supreme Court intrigue!

I woke up today to new audiobook releases in my Audible library by Harlan Coben, TR Ragan, and Anthony Franze. Never heard of Anthony Franze? Me either. So I decided to listen to Franze's novel, The Advocate's Daughter, first. I discovered a wonderful, well written, and sophisticated legal thriller. It is amazing for a first novel by an author. Narration by Robert Petkoff is superb.

My advice is: Just get this book.

Read More Hide me

50 of 51 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews