Regular price: $17.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Washington, DC, lawyer and a frequent major media commentator on the Supreme Court, Anthony Franze delivers a high-stakes story of family, power, loss, and revenge set within the insular world of the highest court of our country.
Among Washington, DC, power players, everyone has secrets they desperately want to keep hidden, including Sean Serrat, a Supreme Court lawyer.
Sean transformed his misspent youth into a model adulthood and now has one of the most respected legal careers in the country. But just as he learns he's on the short list to be nominated to the US Supreme Court, his daughter, Abby, a talented and dedicated law student, goes missing. Abby's lifeless body is soon found in the library of the Supreme Court, and her boyfriend, Malik Montgomery, a law clerk at the high court, is immediately arrested.
The ensuing media frenzy leads to allegations that Malik's arrest was racially motivated, sparking a national controversy. While the Serrat family works through their grief, Sean begins to suspect the authorities arrested the wrong person. Delving into the mysteries of his daughter's last days, Sean stumbles over secrets within his own family as well as the lies of some of the most powerful people in the country. People who will stop at nothing to ensure that Sean never exposes the truth.
Please note: This audiobook features an exclusive interview with the author.
©2016 Anthony Franze (P)2016 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Smart, sophisticated, suspenseful, and written with real insider authenticity. A winner." (Lee Child)
"[T]he 'best of the best' when it comes to suspense." (Suspense Magazine)
"This fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Brad Meltzer, Joseph Finder, and Scott Turow." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Wayne on 03-22-16

Marvelous legal thriller! Supreme Court intrigue!

I woke up today to new audiobook releases in my Audible library by Harlan Coben, TR Ragan, and Anthony Franze. Never heard of Anthony Franze? Me either. So I decided to listen to Franze's novel, The Advocate's Daughter, first. I discovered a wonderful, well written, and sophisticated legal thriller. It is amazing for a first novel by an author. Narration by Robert Petkoff is superb.

My advice is: Just get this book.

Read More Hide me

33 of 34 people found this review helpful


By R. Pontiflet on 04-05-16

Sins of the Father.....?

This is an exciting legal thriller and I enjoyed it very much. The story involves a few storylines (threads) that had to be weaved together. It is the mystery/suspense of just how the author would bring the storylines together into one. The storylines were interesting holding my interest, and all the threads gradually came together nicely.

The story opens with our main character, Sean Serrat, at age 14 living with parents in Japan. This is where the foundational plot (Sean's secret) takes place. Now, it's present day and the main character is married with three children.... could his past be coming back to bite him? could his past be why his daughter, a budding attorney, is murdered? In the mix of all of this, Sean has a shot at becoming a supreme court justice but he's afraid that a serious look into his background could uncover the secret that he's keeping.

The narrator, Petkoff, is a gifted narrator, he performed the story very well. When I can listen to a story without thinking about the narrator, I can then get into a visual place within the story... it's like watching a movies. Petkoff did this for me with range of voices and tones that provided individual voices.

Highly Recommend.....


Read More Hide me

25 of 27 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc