The Advocate's Betrayal : The Advocate

  • by Teresa Burrell
  • Narrated by Meghan Kelly
  • Series: The Advocate
  • 8 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Killer left nothing behind but a rosary, a kitchen knife, and a dead man. But the dead man is a friend of Sabre Orin Brown. When his unsuspecting wife is accused of the murder, Sabre will stop at nothing to uncover the truth, even if it means unearthing chilling secrets.
From a San Diego jail to the shady Chicago nightlife, Sabre's search for the true killer forces her to face the question: What do you do when the ones you trust the most are the ones with the most to hide?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Pretty Darn Good

I read - and listened to - Teresa Burrell's "The Advocate" (2009), first in the series, first. It was good, but a little messy: Burrell had a lot of great plot lines and threw them into the same book. It's almost as if Burrell was afraid she wouldn't get the chance to publish another book. The vocabulary was stilted, too: Burrell's a lawyer, and most of her characters sound like they are, too in Book 1.

Burrell got off to a rocky start, but I liked the character of San Diego kid's lawyer Sabre Orin Brown well enough to sign up for Burrell's mailing list at a Los Angeles Times Festival of Books. And that's how I found out "The Advocate" series is on Audible . . .

Book 2 - "The Advocate's Betrayal" (2012) is just plain good. I'm really used to figuring our "who dunnit" pretty early in a legal procedural thriller, but I didn't with this book - and it wasn't because the author as deus popped something into the narrative late in the game. It was just that well plotted. And the dialogue: Sobs, as her best friend calls her, still sounds like a lawyer, because she is - but the non-lawyer characters sound like real, actual people.

The book is set in San Diego, and I know it well enough to know the freeway directions and were on point, as well as the description of the areas in general. It's not a San Diego Zoo/Sea World/Lego Land/Wild Animal Park kind of book, though. It's a working person's San Diego, complete with a description of where to find more than one Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf.

The narration on this one was pretty good but - oh, no, please, no sound effects! The first time I heard one, I wondered what had fallen or was falling off my car. That startled and distracted me from what was otherwise a really good experience.

Recommendation: Start with Book 2 first, and then go to Book 1 for the background.

[if this review helped please press YES. Thanks!]
Read full review

- Cynthia "Always moving. Always listening. Always learning. "After all this time?" "Always.""

This great series is now complete!

I listened to the series out of order. The Advocate's Betrayal is Book 2 of the 7 book suspense series (there may be more in the future). Book 4, The Advocate's Dilemma, is the only novel in the series that does not earn a solid 5 star rating. The series uses several different narrators some of whom are disappointing. The Advocate's Betrayal is the the best narrated but Books 6 and 7 are also very well narrated.

Sabre Brown, a lawyer and child advocate in San Diego, is the protagonist of all books in the series. The repeating characters are her lawyer friend Bob and her investigator JB. There are different antagonists in each of the novels. The genre is legal thriller, but most of the suspense and action are outside the courtroom.

The series has my strong recommendation for all that like mystery, suspense, and legal novels.
Read full review

- Wayne "I love espionage, legal, and detective thrillers but listen to most genres. Very frequent reviews. No plot spoilers! Please excuse my typos!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-08-2014
  • Publisher: Teresa Burrell