The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

  • by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Narrated by Simon Prebble
  • 10 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A colonel receives five seeds in the mail---and dies within weeks. A young bride disappears immediately after her wedding. An old hat and a Christmas goose are the only clues to a stolen jewel. A son is accused of his father's murder. These mysteries---and many more---are brought to the house on Baker Street where detective Sherlock Holmes resides. No case is too tricky for the world's most famous sleuth and his incredible powers of deduction. This gripping collection includes many of the famous cases---and great strokes of brilliance---that make the legendary detective one of fiction's most popular creations.
Included in The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes are "A Scandal in Bohemia," "The Red-Headed League," "A Case of Identity," "The Boscombe Valley Mystery," "The Five Orange Pips," "The Man with the Twisted Lip," "The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle," "The Adventure of the Speckled Band," "The Adventure of the Engineer's Thumb," "The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor," "The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet," and "The Adventure of the Copper Beeches."


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This version is complete

Any additional comments?

I don't want to nitpick Tad's excellent review, but he is inaccurate on one point.

This version, as of April 2012, includes all twelve short stories collected in 1892 as "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes", including "The Red-Headed League," and "The Adventure of the Speckled Band."

Read full review

- Richard Hoskins

Great narration, but missing a couple

Simon Prebble does an excellent job narrating this first collection of Sherlock Holmes stories. No complaints there. But the collection is marred by Tantor's decision to omit the two stories (Speckled Band and Red-Headed League) they'd already made available as "bonuses" on two of the novels.

In other words, if you want all of the short stories, you have to buy the whole set of recordings, including the four novels. (I'm planning to do that, but others may have preferred not to.) There's something to said, too, for being able to listen to the stories in their published sequence. This unfortunate marketing ploy makes that less convenient.
Read full review

- Tad Davis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-13-2010
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio