Ten Plus One : 87th Precinct

  • by Ed McBain
  • Narrated by Dick Hill
  • Series: 87th Precinct
  • 6 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Anthony Forrest walked out of the office building, the only thoughts on his mind were of an impending birthday and a meeting with his wife for dinner. And a deadly bullet saw to it that they were the last thoughts on his mind.
The problem for Detectives Steve Carella and Meyer Meyer of the 87th Precinct is that Forrest isn’t alone. An anonymous sniper is unofficially holding the city hostage, frustrating the police as one by one the denizens of Isola drop like flies. With fear gripping the citizenry and the pressure on the 87th mounting, finding a killer whose victims are random is the greatest challenge the detectives have ever faced—and the deadliest game the city has ever known.
A gritty, relentless pressure cooker of a thriller, Ten Plus One is one of best-selling author Ed McBain’s finest, the ultimate addition to the 87th Precinct series where time threatens to stand still and murder rules the day.


What the Critics Say

“McBain forces us to think twice about every character we meet…even those we thought we already knew.” (New York Times Book Review)
“The 87th Precinct [is] one of the great literary accomplishments of the last half-century.” (Pete Hamill, Newsday)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

For genre fans only

Any additional comments?

A crime procedural written when Kennedy was president about a sniper killing seemingly random people. A vaguely described orgy plays a central role. Decent but for genre fans only. Bechdel test: Fail.

Dick Hill is excellent as always.

Read full review

- Mark

87th Precinct Very Long Story

Typical characters but exceedingly too long. Unlikely plot though possible somewhere. Not action oriented. Kept waiting for some level of action and murders happened suddenly with only tipoff lead-in to actual shooting. Generally like this series and liked about 10 others I have read so I will try another audio and hope for the best.

Read full review

- Michael R. Rainey

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-07-2012
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio