Telling Tales : Vera Stanhope

  • by Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by Julia Franklin
  • Series: Vera Stanhope
  • 11 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It has been 10 years since Jeanie Long was charged with the murder of 15-year-old Abigail Mantel. Now residents of the East Yorkshire village of Elvet are disturbed to hear of new evidence proving Jeanie's innocence. Abigail's killer is still at large.
For one young woman, Emma Bennett, the revelation brings back haunting memories of her vibrant best friend - and of that fearful winter's day when she had discovered her body lying cold in a ditch.
As Inspector Vera Stanhope makes fresh enquiries on the peninsula and villagers are hauled back to a time they hoped to forget, tensions begin to mount. But are people afraid of the killer or of their own guilty pasts?
With each person's story revisited, the inspector begins to suspect that some deadly secrets are threatening to unfurl....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Vera doesn't disappoint

Cleeves does another masterful job of creating characters, plots and settings that ultimately are woven together into a clear narrative. I listened at every opportunity, finishing it in time comparable to listening to a new Louise Penny novel.
Read full review

- FinnsNana

Early Entry in the Series

The style of this book seems different to me than later entries. There is more character development and less time spent on the police procedural aspect. I enjoyed the book very much. However, if you are looking for a fast moving plot with lots of action you may be disappointed.

The mystery is a good one - I didn't figure it out before it was revealed in the story.

The cast of characters have interesting stories that are revealed throughout the book. But the star of the show is Vera Stanhope. She is unique and amazing - one of a kind.

If you enjoy Ann Cleeves writing I believe you will enjoy this book.
Read full review

- Chalis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-22-2017
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio