Regular price: $13.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $13.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When a sudden rainstorm disrupts an archeological dig at a remote Mayan site, site supervisor Deborah Miller makes an astonishing discovery: a collection of rubies so precious that generations of men have died - and killed - to possess them. Some believe the jewels harbor occult power; others believe they are the key to the arms race; still others see merely their potential for profit. But Deborah doesn’t want power or money - she only wants the truth.
And so she sets out to trace the stones’ complex history across four centuries and two continents, from Mexico to northern England, where the rubies once played a harrowing role in the Lancashire witch trials of 1612. But she is not the only one obsessed with the jewels; close on her heels is a notorious arms dealer who will stop at nothing, not even murder, to claim the prize for himself.
©2012 A. J. Hartley (P)2012 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By S.Edwards on 05-16-14

Light Hearted unoriginal Adventure

What did you love best about Tears of the Jaguar?

I can't say I loved anything. The pace was pretty good and the storyline kept me mostly engaged although it felt like other stories of its type and not at all original. There was nothing to love.

What other book might you compare Tears of the Jaguar to and why?

The Nosferatu Scrolls.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

The accents were appalling which made any parts of the story not involving Americans hard to stomach. Couldn't figure out why the British MI5 agent sometimes sounded slightly Scottish, other times Irish and then slipped into Dick Van Dyke cockney from time to time. This was the same for the Lancaster accent, ARRRGGHHH! The Spanish accents were off too.

Any additional comments?

This is a light Adventure story, fairly well paced, but a bit too interwoven in places and lacking something, I went with the flow and was entertained though annoyed by the narrators accents. I was surprised not to like the main character more, in fact, there aren't any really strong or likeable characters in this book. Perhaps that's what is missing?

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Kate on 05-13-14

Don't waste a credit

Any additional comments?

I bought this as a "deal of the day" and I regret the purchase. The plot is needlessly complicated and far fetched. The narrator is a slow speaker, combined with the glacial pace of the plot, I actually moved the narration speed on my ipod up to 2x to muscle through the end.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Lynn Worton on 01-20-15

An Intriguing Read!

This is an intriguing, mystery/thriller. I saw a review for this book on a blog I follow. The review was rather scathing of it, which piqued my interest. I decided to see what all the fuss was about and downloaded it in audio book format.

The book is narrated by Tanya Eby. Other people who have listened to the audio book have commented that her narration was too slow, but I found her narration quite enjoyable. I do admit that her attempt at the British accent was off, but I thought she deserved kudos for trying. Not everyone is gifted with the ability to mimic accents, which is the hardest part to achieve when speaking or reading out loud; even trained actors struggle. Nevertheless, her speaking voice is pleasant to listen to, and is clear and concise.

Deborah Miller is a wonderful character. I really liked her. She is a museum curator, who usually sits behind a desk, but has been sent to a remote village in the Mexican Yucatan to oversee the excavation site of Ek Balam. She finds herself involved in a thrilling mystery, with danger lurking not too far away.

I started to listen to this book with an open mind, even considering the rather poor reviews on Audible. I found myself quickly pulled into the story and enjoying it. It's a thrilling mystery, with several twists and turns. The story is mostly told through the eyes of Deborah, but there are a few other characters who have a say. This, I feel, gave the story a more intriguing view, as it allows the reader to "see" what is happening elsewhere. However, as some of the other reviewers have stated, the story tends to be a bit long winded and seems to drag at times.

The history and Mayan artifacts seem to be well researched and described by the author, but some of the plot or sub plots seem a bit implausible. I can understand how jewels may have been transported to Mexico from England all those years ago, but I couldn't see what the CIA, MI5 and a Serbian arms dealer would want with a gem which had no monetary value or even material use outside of costume jewellery. Even if it could be used in a weapon, the refractory capability of such a poor quality gem would render the weapon useless. Only flawless gems with glass like qualities would work in modern lasers, not cloudy ones (or maybe I am mistaken to believe this is the case, as I was never very good at physics). That being said, the story kept me hooked and, after a thrilling chase from the jungle to England and back again, it crescendos into a massive gun fight between several characters, with Deborah trapped in between. The mystery of who the killer in the camp was had me guessing for quite a while at first, as there were several red herrings along the way. However, when their identity was revealed, I wasn't really surprised; I had a feeling it was that person for most of the story as they had a motive.
The story ended satisfactorily and left me feeling happy.

A.J. Hartley has written an intriguing thriller, which I really did enjoy. His writing style wasn't particularly as fast paced compared to other authors I have read, but his descriptive ability allowed me to picture the scenes with clarity. The flow was okay, but some of the scenes were a little on the long side, which made the story drag. However, I would definitely consider reading more of his books in the future.

I recommend this book if you love mystery, thrillers or suspense genres. - Lynn Worton

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc