Talking to the Dead

  • by Harry Bingham
  • Narrated by Siriol Jenkins
  • 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A mesmerizing and thrilling novel - perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson - that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates.
She knows what it's like....
At first, the murder scene appears sad, but not unusual: a young woman undone by drugs and prostitution, her six-year-old daughter dead alongside her. But then detectives find a strange piece of evidence in the squalid house: the platinum credit card of a very wealthy - and long dead - steel tycoon. What is a heroin-addicted hooker doing with the credit card of a well-known and powerful man who died months ago? This is the question that the most junior member of the investigative team, Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths, is assigned to answer.
But D.C. Griffiths is no ordinary cop. She’s earned a reputation at police headquarters in Cardiff, Wales, for being odd, for not picking up on social cues, for being a little overintense. And there’s that gap in her past, the two-year hiatus that everyone assumes was a breakdown. But Fiona is a crack investigator, quick and intuitive. She is immediately drawn to the crime scene, and to the tragic face of the six-year-old girl, who she is certain has something to tell her...something that will break the case wide open.
Ignoring orders and protocol, Fiona begins to explore far beyond the rich man’s credit card and into the secrets of her seaside city. And when she uncovers another dead prostitute, Fiona knows that she’s only begun to scratch the surface of a dark world of crime and murder. But the deeper she digs, the more danger she risks - not just from criminals and killers but from her own past...and the abyss that threatens to pull her back at any time.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not the best thing I've ever read, but...

....Harry Bingham's thriller *is* evocative and will keep your interest if you're a fan of police procedurals. Some of it seems trite (the main character is always in trouble with her boss ala Dirty Harry) but it really pokes and prods at how a lot of us feel like like 'the outsider in society.' Siriol Jenkins' lilting narration is astonishing, truly, and the voice Bingham gives to protagonist Fiona Griffiths is haunting, lonely and finely spun. Fiona is forever wrestling with her instincts and the rules of society, often coming out the loser. And, of course, there are two grisly murders to contend with.
Read full review

- mindusq

Original

I must admit after reading so many negative reviews on my book site, I had to read it and see why women were trashing the protagonist.

I am no writer, scholar, well versed critic, but I only found one comment that was questionable, and it was only questionable if taken literally.

I really enjoyed the storyline, pace, character development and overall cohesiveness. The only flaw in my limited opinion was the character development didn't extend to some of the characters I would have liked to know more about... I think that speaks almost as a positive. Bingham created scenes and people I wanted to know more about without making them seem one dimensional. Sorry I'm sure that makes no sense to anyone but me hahaha.

I felt it was well worth the credit but don't expect gripping thrills or car chases, this is more of a story and less of a mystery. Similar to Tana French, but only slightly.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-25-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audio