Talking to the Dead

  • by Harry Bingham
  • Narrated by Siriol Jenkins
  • 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A mesmerizing and thrilling novel - perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson - that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates.
She knows what it's like....
At first, the murder scene appears sad, but not unusual: a young woman undone by drugs and prostitution, her six-year-old daughter dead alongside her. But then detectives find a strange piece of evidence in the squalid house: the platinum credit card of a very wealthy - and long dead - steel tycoon. What is a heroin-addicted hooker doing with the credit card of a well-known and powerful man who died months ago? This is the question that the most junior member of the investigative team, Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths, is assigned to answer.
But D.C. Griffiths is no ordinary cop. She’s earned a reputation at police headquarters in Cardiff, Wales, for being odd, for not picking up on social cues, for being a little overintense. And there’s that gap in her past, the two-year hiatus that everyone assumes was a breakdown. But Fiona is a crack investigator, quick and intuitive. She is immediately drawn to the crime scene, and to the tragic face of the six-year-old girl, who she is certain has something to tell her...something that will break the case wide open.
Ignoring orders and protocol, Fiona begins to explore far beyond the rich man’s credit card and into the secrets of her seaside city. And when she uncovers another dead prostitute, Fiona knows that she’s only begun to scratch the surface of a dark world of crime and murder. But the deeper she digs, the more danger she risks - not just from criminals and killers but from her own past...and the abyss that threatens to pull her back at any time.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not the best thing I've ever read, but...

....Harry Bingham's thriller *is* evocative and will keep your interest if you're a fan of police procedurals. Some of it seems trite (the main character is always in trouble with her boss ala Dirty Harry) but it really pokes and prods at how a lot of us feel like like 'the outsider in society.' Siriol Jenkins' lilting narration is astonishing, truly, and the voice Bingham gives to protagonist Fiona Griffiths is haunting, lonely and finely spun. Fiona is forever wrestling with her instincts and the rules of society, often coming out the loser. And, of course, there are two grisly murders to contend with.
Read full review

- mindusq "Typical cat lady: lazy, sings off-key, craves spicy bloody marys."

Interesting Procedural with a Few Problems

This is a new-to-me author and narrator. I had this on my Wish List for about six months before I decided to pull the trigger. The narrator was good enough with a competent style and nothing in her delivery that really annoyed me. The book, for at least the first two thirds was a solid four stars. Then it took a weird turn that left me scratching my head.

Fiona Griffith is a young Detective Constable. She has a degree in philosophy, a mystery in her past, and a family background which makes her choice of working for the police an interesting one.

One day as she is trying cope with the audit of a bent, embezzling copper's accounts that she is readying for the Crown Prosecution Service, she is handed a credit card that had been found at a horrific crime scene. The card belonged to a very rich man who had gone down in a plane wreck. However the crime scene where the card was found was a squalid squat where a sometime prostitute and her six year old daughter have been found dead in circumstances that the police find appalling.

Intrigued, Fiona wants to become involved with the investigation of the murders. Her obsessive interest in the murder victims is both interesting and a bit cringe inducing.

Fast paced and interesting, the vague hints about Fiona's past as well as the events of the story kept me intrigued up to the point that the martial arts expert showed up. Uh, what? It lost some steam about then and I ended up finishing it but not with the same pleasure that I had read the earlier part. This is supposed to be the first Fiona Griffiths book so I did wonder if he was sequel bait. I would be more likely a read a sequel if the author promised me the martial artist wasn't going to be part of the plot.

Anyway, after thinking about it I decided that this was for the majority of the book a 3.75 star read which I rounded up to 4. I'm not sorry I read it and I would more likely than not give the author and narrator another shot.
Read full review

- Sires "I like mysteries (particularly British ones, historical fiction and nonfiction, science fiction and fantasy."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-25-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audio