Sworn to Silence : Kate Burkholder

  • by Linda Castillo
  • Narrated by Kathleen McInerney
  • Series: Kate Burkholder
  • 11 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Now the subject of the Lifetime original movie: An Amish Murder
Some secrets are too terrible to reveal...Some crimes are too unspeakable to solve.In the sleepy rural town of Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and "English" residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But 16 years ago, a series of brutal murders shattered the peaceful farming community. In the aftermath of the violence, the town was left with a sense of fragility, a loss of innocence.
Kate Burkholder, a young Amish girl, survived the terror of the Slaughterhouse Killer but came away from its brutality with the realization that she no longer belonged with the Amish.Now, a wealth of experience later, Kate has been asked to return to Painters Mill as Chief of Police. Her Amish roots and big city law enforcement background make her the perfect candidate. She's certain she's come to terms with her past - until the first body is discovered in a snowy field. Kate vows to stop the killer before he strikes again. But to do so, she must betray both her family and her Amish past - and expose a dark secret that could destroy her.


What the Critics Say

"Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I'm sorry.....

I wanted to like it, but this story plays out like a bad made-for-tv movie...predictable....
(Sorry author)Worst narrator for THIS story ever,something else for her may be a better choice.
If she says the word "inordinately" one more time...I may have an inordinately strong dislike for the story. Wish we could rate with 1/2 stars, for 2 1/2 stars is a more appropriate rating.
Read full review


Freddie Goes Amish

It's clear this author would be capable of writing a good story; it's unclear why she chose not to. Is it that gore and horror sell? Is she aiming at the teenagers who watch the Friday the 13th style of horror movies? It actually becomes boring in the middle of psychotic mania rampages simply because she so belabors every repellent detail. Even the supposedly good guys left me unmoved. Flawed characters are all well and good, but there's a distance between them vs. folks that have degenerated into complete basket cases. The plot is pretty silly most of the time. Like, hasn't this woman -- an officer of the law -- ever heard of lawyers?

AUDIO: McInerney is a mediocre actress, and is all over the place in this novel, bouncing between overacting and flat-affect droning, with only a few bits that are well done. The protagonist is played nowhere near tough enough, and all the men sound like dweebs.
Read full review

- Lehua of Pacifica "Lehua of Pacifica"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-25-2009
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio