Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Now the subject of the Lifetime original movie: An Amish Murder
Some secrets are too terrible to reveal...Some crimes are too unspeakable to solve.In the sleepy rural town of Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and "English" residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But 16 years ago, a series of brutal murders shattered the peaceful farming community. In the aftermath of the violence, the town was left with a sense of fragility, a loss of innocence.
Kate Burkholder, a young Amish girl, survived the terror of the Slaughterhouse Killer but came away from its brutality with the realization that she no longer belonged with the Amish.Now, a wealth of experience later, Kate has been asked to return to Painters Mill as Chief of Police. Her Amish roots and big city law enforcement background make her the perfect candidate. She's certain she's come to terms with her past - until the first body is discovered in a snowy field. Kate vows to stop the killer before he strikes again. But to do so, she must betray both her family and her Amish past - and expose a dark secret that could destroy her.
©2009 Linda Castillo; (P)2009 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By SHEILA on 08-01-09

I'm sorry.....

I wanted to like it, but this story plays out like a bad made-for-tv movie...predictable....
(Sorry author)Worst narrator for THIS story ever,something else for her may be a better choice.
If she says the word "inordinately" one more time...I may have an inordinately strong dislike for the story. Wish we could rate with 1/2 stars, for 2 1/2 stars is a more appropriate rating.

Read More Hide me

22 of 22 people found this review helpful


By karen on 09-07-12

Surprised me!

I'm not a big fan of serial killer stories -- they tend to get boring and repetitious, not to mention unpleasantly over the top in terms of pain and gore. But in reading the blurb that described this book by Linda Castillo, something grabbed my attention -- not too sure what. In any event, I'm glad I bought it. It's different -- and very very good.

There's some blood and guts, to be sure, but not much. Most of the story focuses on the Police Chief protagonist, Kate Burkholder. (Ever notice how many female cops, etc, are named 'Kate'?) And she is an interesting bird -- grew up Amish, speaking Pennsylvania Dutch, at age 18 she elected not to join the church, and set out to become a police officer instead. Now she's been hired back in her home community, where she's trying to serve as a bridge between the Amish and the "English", ie, everyone else. Tough job -- would be a tough job for everyone, but needless to say, having a female chief of police would be a big enough issue in the first place, let alone one thought to harbor the pacifist ideals of the Amish community. In addition to everything else, Kate has a hostile board to deal with, people who seem set on making her life as miserable as possible. (Been there, done that myself -- maybe that's why I identified with this protagonist.)

Linda Castillo did an excellent job with this story -- really remarkable. There were times when Kate's anguish over things that were happening were so intensely described I actually shed a tear or two for her -- now when's the last time THAT happened? The whole thing is really well done -- and the narration by Kathleen McInerney is perfect for this book. Not overdone, not underdone, just right.

I've since bought two more books in this series, haven't listened to them yet, but if they're only partly as good as this one, they're more than worth it. Good book!

Read More Hide me

20 of 20 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Katherine on 11-01-12

Not great, even for £5.99

I bought this in a halloween sale- it was cheap and long enough to make it feel worth buying even though I didn't know what to expect. But I didn't enjoy it much, and couldn't listen to the whole of the last half. It is a fairly standard thriller, though (partly) set in an amish community, which sounded interesting. I felt the characters were one dimensional, though I think the author put lots of effort in to make them "complex" and "flawed", this didn't work. Instead they became either unbelievable or just not real. Also, I found a lot of it tedious, despite many bloody and violent events and graphic descriptions of crimes. Just didn't do it for me- a shame as had a very promising premise. It was well read, but this wasn't enough to make it good.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Amazon Customer on 01-06-13

Introducing Kate Burkholder

Introducing Kate Burkholder, an ex Amish member, now Chief of Police in Painter Mill where there is a large Amish community. Add a nasty murder ( or two, three ....), a damaged State Investigator and a tangled personal history and you have a great story.

Loved the book when I read it ages ago. Loved it even more when read by Kathleen McIerney.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Lisa McKay on 10-16-16

Terrifyingly descriptive

This book had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Even when I worked out who the murderer was i couldn't stop listening to see how it ended

Read More Hide me

By Never stop reading on 08-17-16

Excellent

I am really pleased I came across this book, I loved the main character Kate and am really excited to read more of Linda Castillo's books. Nicely narrated by Kathleen McInerney.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews