• by Robert Crais
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • 4 hrs and 38 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

LAPD cop Scott James is not doing so well, not since a shocking nighttime assault by unidentified men killed his partner Stephanie, nearly killed him, and left him enraged, ashamed, and ready to explode. He is unfit for duty - until he meets his new partner.
Maggie is not doing so well, either. The German shepherd survived three tours in Iraq and Afghanistan sniffing explosives before she lost her handler to an IED and sniper attack, and her PTSD is as bad as Scott’s.
They are each other’s last chance. He was a young cop on the rise, she was bred to guard and protect. Now they are shunned and shunted to the side. They are suspect. And together they will set out to investigate the one case that no one wants them to touch: the identity of the men who murdered Stephanie.
Nine months and sixteen days later, they remained free. They were still out there.
What they begin to find is nothing like what Scott has been told, and where it will lead them will take them both through the darkest moments of their own personal hells. Whether they will make it out again, no one can say.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Too Bad It's Abridged

There I was, gettin' my much-needed Robert Crais fix, and suddenly by hour three, names of characters, actions, scenes and relationships just didn't make much sense. Loved the K-9 element and the theme of struggling back to greatness after debilitating set-backs. It was like having a slice of my favorite pizza with some of the key ingredients missing. Good, I finished it, but it woulda been way better with pineapple and jalapeños.
Read full review

- mindusq

This is surely a nonstop read.

Who is the hero? The Marine, the cop, or the dog? This a warmly written story that is timely in the fact that dogs are playing more of a role in war and police work. All three are heroes. Beautifully written and well delivered.
Read full review

- drruth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-22-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio