Summer of the Dead : Bell Elkins

  • by Julia Keller
  • Narrated by Shannon McManus
  • Series: Bell Elkins
  • 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

High summer in Acker's Gap, West Virginia - but no one's enjoying the rugged natural landscape. Not while a killer stalks the small town and its hard-luck inhabitants. County prosecutor Bell Elkins and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong are stymied by a murderer who seems to come and go like smoke on the mountain. At the same time, Bell must deal with the return from prison of her sister, Shirley - who, like Bell, carries the indelible scars of a savage past.
In Summer of the Dead, the third Julia Keller mystery chronicling the journey of Bell Elkins and her return to her Appalachian hometown, we also meet Lindy Crabtree - a coal miner's daughter with dark secrets of her own, secrets that threaten to explode into even more violence.
Acker's Gap is a place of loveliness and brutality, of isolation and fierce attachments - a place where the dead rub shoulders with the living, and demand their due.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Unsatisfying conclusion

I love the description of the hot summer and the interesting characters but the solution to the mystery I didn't like at all. I won't reread this one, but I will finish the series.
Read full review

- Catherine


I really liked the first two novels I read by Julia Keller. Her protagonist, Belle Elkin, was tough and smart, which are admirable qualities. I even like the West Virginia hill country she described but this book was not as good as the first two. I felt as though Ms. Keller was trying to stretch the book by adding descriptive paragraphs. Maybe she finished the book and it wasn't long enough so the editor said, "add something, make it longer." How many lines do you really need to describe the cold air coming from the basement? I found it very tiring and also caused me to lose interest in the story. Sorry but I can't recommend this book.
Read full review

- Sandy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-26-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio