Regular price: $17.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

NYPD sergeant Kathleen Mallory is drawn to place far away from home. In a small town in Louisiana, she steps off the train. Within the hour, one man has been assaulted, another has had a heart attack, a third has been murdered, and Mallory is in jail, though she nothing to do with any of these three events. She is there for an entirely different purpose. Seventeen years earlier, Mallory's mother died in this town, stoned to death by a mob, and the six-year-old Mallory had disappeared, to reappear on the streets of New York. Now she's back to find out who killed her mother, and what happened to the body, vanished as well, its only trace a winged angel in the local cemetery.
©1998 Carol O'Connell (P)2009 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Valerie on 03-06-12

The narrator makes or breaks a good story!

Although I really enjoyed this story in the Mallory series, I much prefer Barbara Rosenblat as the narrator. Unfortunately, Laural Merlington just does not have the voice range to make all of the character believable without distraction. The story is good and answers some questions about the main character that we've all been waiting to find out. The story is definitely a good one, but I would not recommend this narrator for this book series.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Philo-sophia on 03-05-12

Pretty Good Mallory Story

Who was your favorite character and why?

Kathleen Mallory of course, though Charles came off pretty strong (and oblivious) at times.

Have you listened to any of Laural Merlington’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I can't remember, but she is quite talented. Listening to some decent narrators I've forgotten that others possess talents unrivaled. The ability to transform the story into a moving picture. Laural Merlington is one of them.

Any additional comments?

If you’re familiar with the Detective Mallory serious then you’ll be able to follow along. I read a previous review warning that Mallory takes more a supportive character role in this book and it’s somewhat true. It seemed like she was more of a cameo than the protagonist. The book is about her and the loss of her mother. The revenge seemed so unrealistic, like everything was staged. In previous novels and books events role seamlessly to the point the reader believes that the occurrences couldn’t be anything, but natural. It was like Mallory showed up the lights went out, and she disappeared. If the part of the book was about Mallory you expected her to do something and then disappear.

I’m a Kathleen Mallory supporter because she has this superhero quality about her. She doesn’t take crap from anyone and is willing to back it up with action. She’s intelligent and a quick-thinker. Her critical thinking and reasoning abilities create suspense and intellect. She defends the weak, confused, and sometimes stupid. She always gets her target. This is the Kathleen Mallory I enjoy reading about.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews