Stolen Remains : Lady of Ashes

  • by Christine Trent
  • Narrated by Polly Lee
  • Series: Lady of Ashes
  • 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After establishing her reputation as one of London's most highly regarded undertakers, Violet Harper decided to take her practice to the wilds of the American West. But when her mother falls ill, Violet and her husband Samuel are summoned back to England, where her skills are as sought-after as ever. She's honored to undertake the funeral of Anthony Fairmont, the Viscount Raybourn, a close friend of Queen Victoria's who died in suspicious circumstances- but it's difficult to perform her services when his body disappears. . .
As the viscount's undertaker, all eyes are on Violet as the Fairmonts and Scotland Yard begin the search for his earthly remains. Forced to exhume her latent talents as a sleuth to preserve her good name, Violet's own investigation takes her from servants' quarters, to the halls of Windsor Castle, to the tombs of ancient Egypt -and the Fairmont family's secrets quickly begin to unravel like a mummy's wrappings. But the closer Violet gets to the truth, the closer she gets to becoming the next missing body. . .Wrought with both heartfelt bravery and breathtaking suspense, Stolen Remains is a captivating tale of death and deception set against the indelible backdrop of Victorian London.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sort of not bad books.

I've listened to both books in the series. Not bad. Good stories. I don't care so much for the narrator because I don't like how she does men's voices. She makes every man sound unpleasant and grouchy. Nonetheless, I'll listen again when there's another book in the series.
Read full review

- JoAnn

Excellent Plot!

This a terrific follow up to Christine's first novel in this series! There are many twists and turns in the plot that keeps you guessing who the murderer is and why. It's like a thrilling roller coaster at an amusement park, wondering what is going to happen.
Read full review

- Margret "from Wisconsin"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-29-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios