• by Joseph Kanon
  • Narrated by Boyd Gaines
  • 6 hrs and 41 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hollywood, 1945. Ben Collier has just arrived from wartorn Europe to find that his brother, Daniel, has died in mysterious circumstances. Why would a man with a beautiful wife, a successful career in the movies, and a heroic past choose to kill himself?Determined to uncover the truth, Ben enters the maze of the studio system and the uneasy world beneath the glossy shine of the movie business. For this is the moment when politics and the dream factories are beginning to collide as Communist witch hunts render the biggest stars and star makers vulnerable. Even here, where the devastation of Europe seems no more real than a painted movie set, the war casts long and dangerous shadows. When Ben learns troubling facts about his own family's past, he is caught in the middle of a web of deception that shakes his moral foundation to its core.


What the Critics Say

"Spectacular in every way...wonderfully imagined, wonderfully written, an urgent personal mystery set against the sweep of glamorous and sinister history. Joseph Kanon owns this corner of the literary landscape and it's a joy to see him reassert his title with such emphatic authority." (Lee Child)
"Stardust is sensational! No one writes period fiction with the same style and suspense - not to mention substance - as Joseph Kanon. A terrific read." (Scott Turow)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I found the story to be totally incoherent, perhaps because it's abridged. If you're interested in this book, I strongly suggest finding an unabridged version.
Read full review

- Michael

Good story, badly abridged

I was disappointed. It had the potential to be a good story and the narration was good but the abridgement was terrible. It seemed as if someone decided to just eliminate a page now and then which made the whole thing very uneven and disjointed, as well as confusing.
Read full review

- Glenn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-29-2009
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio