Standing in Another Man's Grave : Inspector Rebus

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus
  • 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In book 20 of the series, John Rebus returns to investigate the disappearances of three women from the same road over 10 years.
For the last decade, Nina Hazlitt has been ready to hear the worst about her daughter's disappearance. But with no sightings, no body, and no suspect, the police investigation ground to a halt long ago, and Nina's pleas to the cold case department have led her nowhere.
Until she meets the newest member of the team: former Detective John Rebus.
Rebus has never shied away from lost causes - one of the many ways he managed to antagonize his bosses when he was on the force. Now he's back as a retired civilian, reviewing abandoned files. Necessary work, but it's not exactly scratching the itch he feels to be in the heart of the action.
Two more women have gone missing from the same road where Sally Hazlitt was last seen. Unlike his skeptical colleagues, Rebus can sense a connection - but pursuing it leads him into the crosshairs of adversaries both old and new.
Rebus may have missed the thrill of the hunt, but he's up against a powerful enemy who's got even less to lose.
On the 20th anniversary of Ian Rankin's first American publication comes an audiobook bursting with the vitality and suspense that made its author one of crime fiction's most dazzling stars. Standing in Another Man's Grave is the triumphant return of John Rebus, and a riveting story of sin, redemption, and revenge.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Rebus is back!

I was so excited when I saw that Ian Rankin was resurrecting John Rebus. This one was as good as the previous series which were uniformly excellent. I love the descriptions of Scotland and it's people, the story itself, and the narration was excellent.
Read full review

- susan

Rebus at His Best!

As a long time Rebus fan, I was happy to see a "post-retirement" Rebus return. This latest entry is probably my favorite Rebus - a solid performance with all the right characters, an excellent mystery, and some nice twists along the way. Listening to this book was better than reading it as James Macpherson's voice was a pleasure - all the accents were exactly as they should have been, neither forced nor exaggerated. Five stars all around, a great listen and another hit from Ian Rankin.
Read full review

- Ruth Nielsen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-15-2013
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio