• Stalker

  • By: Lars Kepler
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Series: Joona Linna, Book 5
  • Length: 19 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 05-05-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.0 (11 ratings)

Regular price: $18.11

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.11

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The much-anticipated fifth thriller in Lars Kepler's best-selling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.
A video clip is sent to the National Criminal Investigation Department. Someone has secretly filmed a woman through her window from the garden. The next day she is found dead after a frenzied knife attack.
The police receive a second film of another unknown woman. There is no way of identifying her before time runs out. When her husband finds her, he is so traumatised that he cleans the whole house and puts her to bed. He may have seen a vital clue but is in such an extreme state of shock that the police are unable to question him. Psychiatrist Erik Maria Bark is called in to hypnotise him - but what the man tells him under hypnosis leads Erik to start lying to the police.
If the lights are on, a stalker can see you from outside. But if the lights are off, you can't see a stalker who is already inside the house.
©2016 Lars Kepler (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

Praise for Lars Kepler: "Kepler's plots are always thrilling, but The Sandman is one of the most hair-raising crime novels published this year." ( The Sunday Times)
"Hurtles along...full of nuanced detail which sets it far above the average thriller.... You'll be terrified." ( Evening Standard)
"Taking Europe by storm...ferocious, visceral storytelling that wraps you in a cloak of darkness." ( Daily Mail)
"Deeply scarifying stuff." ( Independent)
"Kepler has a direct line to a very dark place in the human soul." (Lev Grossman, Time)
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By marimax on 04-13-17

Over-long and over-hyped

What did you like best about Stalker? What did you like least?

I have not listened to any previous books in this series and perhaps if I had I would have got more out of it than I have so far. I am listening to the second part and I had to check to see why I selected this book in the first place. Like a great many people I looked at the reviews and some were so complimentary that I thought it must be me.The basis of the story was that three women had been video-taped in their home before being brutally-murdered. Any tension was completely lost in the over-use of red herrings which introduced two-dimensional characters who lead nowhere and are quickly discarded after a "set piece" such as the orgy or the incident in the tunnels The psychologists are completely unprofessional and implausible. The chief one, Erik, reaches for prescription pills all the time (perhaps earlier books would explain why) and his female colleague, Nelle (if that's how it's spelt) behaves like a silly schoolgirl. I found the story rambling and descriptions repetitive, particularly of the heavily pregnant, investigating police officer Margot. Not one of the characters is likeable or sympathetic, Again I may have missed something not having read the previous books,

Would you ever listen to anything by Lars Kepler again?

No, not on the basis of this book.. .

Did Saul Reichlin do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

Saul Reichlin did a sterling job as always and he did his best with the material but I found his delivery stilted and I do think the use of the present tense (which I personally find irritating) did not help.

Was Stalker worth the listening time?

No. It was far too long and padded out to no good effect but I shall persevere to find out "whodunnit",.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By C I H on 07-08-16

Clear the Decks, once you start you will not .....

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

want to put this down until you are finished.A gripping story with twists and turns throughout, it captures the location and the atmosphere and creates an enthralling dialogue that you feel part of the plot.

What does Saul Reichlin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The voice encapsulates the region and the theme it is an added dimension providing a perfect compliment to the written word.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Definitely if you can organise it this is a great one sitting listen.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc