Split Second : King and Maxwell

  • by David Baldacci
  • Narrated by Scott Brick
  • Series: King and Maxwell
  • 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Michelle Maxwell has just blown her future with the Secret Service. Against her instincts, she let a presidential candidate out of her sight to comfort a grieving widow. Then, behind closed doors, the politician whose safety was her responsibility vanished into thin air.Living a new life on a quiet lake in central Virginia, Sean King knows how the younger agent feels. He's been there before. In an out-of-the-way hotel eight years earlier, the hard-charging Secret Service man allowed his attention to be diverted for a split second. And the presidential candidate Sean was protecting was gunned down before his eyes.Now Michelle and Sean are about to see their destinies converge. She has become obsessed with Sean's case. And he needs a friend-especially since a series of macabre killings has brought him under suspicion and prompted the reappearance of a seductive woman he's tried hard to forget.As the two discredited agents enter a maze of lies, secrets, and deadly coincidences, they uncover a shocking truth: that the separate acts of violence that shattered their lives were really a long time in the making-and are a long way from over...


What the Critics Say

"Baldacci's new thriller is sustained by the pulse-pounding suspense his fans have come to expect." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Listen again

I can usally tell who the bad guy is about three-quarters of the way through the story, but not this time. With good pace and great narration by Scott Brick this is one that I will listen to again.
Read full review

- John

Fun Read!

This is a good book. I couldn't put it down. I found myself listening in very strange places...while making supper, grocery shopping, even in the restroom! Do yourself a favor and read it!
Read full review

- KristinaH "KristinaH"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-24-2003
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio