Sky Woman Falling : Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed

  • by Kirk Mitchell
  • Narrated by Dick Hill
  • Series: Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed
  • 13 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, a Modoc Indian from California, and Bureau of Indian Affairs Investigator Emmett Parker, a Comanche from Oklahoma, are a team, sent by the Feds wherever there are problems in tribal territory. This assignment takes them to upstate New York where Brenda Two Kettles, an elder of the Oneida tribe, was found dead in a cornfield, every major bone in her body shattered. She seems to have fallen from the sky, like Sky Woman of the Oneida creation myth. When Anna and Emmett discover that Brenda was the center of a bitter land dispute between Indians and whites, they are sure she was murdered. Their investigation brings them face to face with the dangers of race war, and soon their own lives depend on Anna's instincts and her ability to see the line where myth and reality come together.


What the Critics Say

"Mitchell combines a great story line with an authentic Native American background in his flawless fourth mystery....Packed with suspense and action, this intricate tale delivers a conclusion that is nothing short of brilliant." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good Book, Great Narration

This is a good mystery made better by Dick Hill. The murder method was a total surprise. The author didn't give away the villian prematurely, and I sure didn't guess it beforehand. Dick Hill's differentiation of the characters was excellent and I was really impressed by his pronunciation of Native words. There was a lot going on in this book and it was confusing at times, but all in all I would recommend it.
Read full review

- Dawn

Move over Tony Hillerman

Just a bit to the side......Kirk Mitchell writes about all Native American tribes, not just the Navaho, as does Tony Hillerman. He does it well. He can't replace Hillerman for me but he certainly will keep me busy until the next Hillerman book comes out.
Read full review

- frodrigu

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-20-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.