Silent Scream : Detective Kim

  • by Angela Marsons
  • Narrated by Jan Cramer
  • Series: Detective Kim
  • 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Even the darkest secrets can't stay buried forever.
Five figures gather 'round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult-sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken, but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood.
Years later a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders that shock the Black Country.
But when human remains are discovered at a former children's home, disturbing secrets are also unearthed. DI Kim Stone fast realizes she's on the hunt for a twisted individual whose killing spree spans decades.
As the body count rises, Kim needs to stop the murderer before they strike again. But to catch the killer, can Kim confront the demons of her own past before it's too late?
Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid ,and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.
A detective hiding dark secrets, Kim Stone will stop at nothing to protect the innocent. Silent Scream is the first book in the series. Watch out for Evil Games, coming soon.


What the Critics Say

"A superb debut by an assured new writer. Blending sharp wit with emotion, I thoroughly enjoyed the ride alongside DI Kim Stone and look forward to the next outing." (Mel Sherratt)
"I absolutely loved it!.... This one is one of the best crime thrillers I've read in a long time, and that includes mainstream authors such as James Patterson! I would seriously put this book in the same league." (Fiona's Book Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Ended much better than it began

The dialog in the first chapters is meant to show how the team of detectives is a witty, carefree group of people who are so good at their jobs they can make light of everything. It comes across like an elderly grandmother trying to speak to teenagers in their own language. It's so painful and off target I almost stopped listening. All of the characters come off the same and definitely not very interesting. It doesn't help that the narrator is completely tone deaf to the story. The problems with the dialog fade as the story progresses and the dialog turns to the case, but there are still moments so bad I couldn't help but groan.

Ultimately the story turned out ok, though not groundbreaking. The author puts in some long passages that are well written and interesting. Maybe later books are built on that foundation, and if so they are probably worth a read, but much of this book was too hit or miss to give it a higher rating. It would probably be better not as an audiobook.

And for what it's worth, I don't think the tough-as-nails, fight the system as long as she gets the bad guy police woman would insult her teammates by calling them little girls. In the end she even brags about how great women are. Doesn’t seem like someone like that would find being a girl insulting.

I don’t think I would read another book by this author, and I definitely would not listen to this narrator again, but I’m guessing some people will relate to the way the story is told.
Read full review

- De Plume

Totally unexpected!!!

I am very critical and never leave reviews... That having been said, bravo! This was everything a book should be. I hope the author reads this review. I want to thank her for many hours of pure enjoyment. I look forward to the next installment.
Read full review

- Michael Sonnier

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-24-2015
  • Publisher: Bookouture