Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Even the darkest secrets can't stay buried forever.
Five figures gather 'round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult-sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken, but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood.
Years later a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders that shock the Black Country.
But when human remains are discovered at a former children's home, disturbing secrets are also unearthed. DI Kim Stone fast realizes she's on the hunt for a twisted individual whose killing spree spans decades.
As the body count rises, Kim needs to stop the murderer before they strike again. But to catch the killer, can Kim confront the demons of her own past before it's too late?
Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid ,and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.
A detective hiding dark secrets, Kim Stone will stop at nothing to protect the innocent. Silent Scream is the first book in the series. Watch out for Evil Games, coming soon.
©2015 Bookouture (P)2015 Bookouture
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A superb debut by an assured new writer. Blending sharp wit with emotion, I thoroughly enjoyed the ride alongside DI Kim Stone and look forward to the next outing." (Mel Sherratt)
"I absolutely loved it!.... This one is one of the best crime thrillers I've read in a long time, and that includes mainstream authors such as James Patterson! I would seriously put this book in the same league." ( Fiona's Book Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By David J Delaney on 02-21-16

Superb story and wonderful performance!

Angela has catapulted herself to stand with the best crime writers out there today.

This story is a fantastic blend of mystery, twists and investigation while giving us insight into the mind of the cops and killers involved.

I'm an instant fan and would recommend Angela Mason's to those who love Ranking, Cornwell and Billingham.

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful


By Chad G. on 08-03-15

Great start to this crime thriller series

One of the best books I've listened to this year. I love the cast of characters, Marsons made me want to know more about many of the supporting characters, in addition to my curiosity about Stone's past.

The plot winds its way around and keeps you guessing all the way to the end. The pacing is blazing fast and perfect, I never once wanted to stop listening.

I've already downloaded book 2, Evil Games, can't wait to see what new adventure lies ahead for D.I. Kim Stone.

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By G. Willoughby on 10-04-15

Good story, dreadful narrator.

What did you like best about this story?

The story was well written and exciting. It held my interest and as I am familiar with the area in which the novel is set this added another aspect for me.

How could the performance have been better?

Unfortunately I found this the worst professional narration to which I have ever listened. It was read too quickly in places and without inflection. The accents were inconsistent and at times poor. A further minor annoyance was the mispronunciation of place names. I would avoid Jan Cramer in future if at all possible.

Read More Hide me

19 of 20 people found this review helpful


By P. S. Elliott on 05-10-15

Disappointment

What made the experience of listening to Silent Scream the most enjoyable?

I did not read this book for long. I found I started to silently scream with the narrators voice! So sorry, not read, story seems ok but completely spoilt for me by her voice

Would you be willing to try another one of Jan Cramer’s performances?

No

Read More Hide me

13 of 14 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Kathleen Chalmers on 12-21-16

Who was who?

a good read that kept me guessing until the end. I did find the narrator a bit annoying. a bit hard to distinguish one character from another

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By Joelene on 12-13-16

Brilliant story with fantastic narration

A great story, looking forward to the next one. Brilliant narration - voices affected were incredible

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc