Silence Observed : Inspector Appleby

  • by Michael Innes
  • Narrated by Matt Addis
  • Series: Inspector Appleby
  • 5 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Respected Fine Art experts are deceived in one of the most intriguing murder cases Inspector Appleby has ever faced, beginning with Gribble, and a collector of forgeries whose latest acquisition is found to be a forged forgery! In the words of Appleby himself: 'Those whom the gods wish to destroy, they first make mad. Just a little mad, for a start. Inclined, say, to unreasonable jokes in the course of business. But later - well, very mad indeed.'


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very good Innes

I'd forgotten this book and was delighted to listen to it—one of Innes's best, I think, and in his semi-thrilling vein. Appleby is poking his nose into an investigation where it doesn't really belong, now that he's a mucky-muck; he is drawn in to an art fraud by a man at his club, again through a connection of Judith's, and then by a missing dinner-guest. Clever as always, but with the beating heart that can sometimes be missing from Innes's cooler works.
Read full review

- Marina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-19-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios