• Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love

  • By: James Runcie
  • Narrated by: Peter Wickham
  • Series: Sidney Chambers, Book 6
  • Length: 9 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 07-01-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.6 (30 ratings)

Regular price: $20.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It is May 1971 and Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is walking in a bluebell wood with his daughter Anna and their ageing Labrador, Byron, when they stumble upon a body.
Thrust into another murder investigation, Sidney discovers a world of hippies and psychedelic plants, where permissive behaviour seems to hide something darker. This is the first of many disturbing secrets that Sidney unearths: a celebrated photographer is accused of rape; a priceless religious text vanishes from a Cambridge college; and Sidney's own nephew goes missing.
Endeavouring to fit his clerical duties in around the demands of sleuthing, Sidney continues to reflect on the divine mysteries of love, life and faith, while wrestling with the earthly problems of parish scandals, the challenges of parenthood, and a great loss.
©2017 James Runcie (P)2017 Isis Publishing Ltd
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Sara on 06-20-18

The Mysteries Of Life And Love

Runcie has taken this series in a somewhat different direction with this final book number six in the collection. I know that the author is writing a prequel that is due to be published in 2019 that goes back in time and explores Sidney's experience in WWII. I do however hope we also get a follow up book that picks up where we are left hanging in 1976 at the end of this title. Be aware that the mystery stories in this book focus for the most part on Sidney's own life and personal interior experience of the world, love and faith. I enjoyed the book and read/listened almost nonstop. I just personally hate being left wondering how it all works out. I guess, in the end that's just how life is--full of uncertainty and the not knowing.

Read More Hide me

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Silva on 06-17-18

A cliffhanger ending

This book answered some questions for me about what happened in the previous books I missed. I was surprised by the twists in the story and didn't get the closure I was looking for in the end. I hope there is more to this series.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By vicimaddox on 07-28-17

The Persistence of Love

...the stories in this collection are beautifully observed and the reader reaches into the heart of each one

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Rogayah on 07-09-17

World of faith and doubt

James Runcie gets better with each book both as a story teller and as a man committed to his faith yet unafraid of asking question to explore the faith, beliefs or philosophy of his characters that I think most people ask either to themselves or ask of others.

The stories may not be long but they are dense as a Christmas cake. If you have read the previous books many of these characters are a renewed sighting or a continuation of these peoples lives, even if it is a fleeting glance. So it is in the readers' lives too.

If you are in your more mellow years this is a book to savour after dinner in your favourite chair, perhaps with a good whisky as Sidney would do.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews