Sick : Project Eden

  • by Brett Battles
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • Series: Project Eden
  • 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles.
Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She's had them before. Yet he can't help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare. But the nightmare is his. It's real. And it's just beginning....
Something is burning Ash's daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners. Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn't the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house. But these aren't the good guys. They haven't come to save Ash's family. They've come to separate them, to finish what they started. The problem is, Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible. Because humanity is on the brink of execution. And man is pulling the trigger.

More

What the Critics Say

"Like a fever, Sick makes you sweat and keeps you up all night, wondering what the hell is happening. It'll make your heart race like someone shot you with an EpiPen. You think Battles was badass before? He just cranked it up to 500 joules. CLEAR!" (popculturenerd.com)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyably addictive story!

But be warned he doesn't actually end his books. I love the story and know a lot of people are leaving bad reviews because he stops in the middle, but deal with it. Its worth it. I basically listened back to back and they are great. I'm waiting for my last credit so I can get the next one. Characters are enjoyable, with the occasional "nobody would actually do that" thought but they are few and far between. Good apocalyptic biohazard end of humanity story. You will be hooked.
Read full review

- Amanda

INITIATE PROTOCOL 13

IF PEOPLE WOULD JUST LET THINGS GO, THE WOULD HAVE A BETTER CHANCE OF LIVING
This is action packed and hits the ground running right from the start. Through the rest of the book there is very little let up in the action. I found it very entertaining and it kept my attention. It was on the edge of five stars for me, close to a four, but it was worth my credit and I am buying the next book in the series.

YOU WANT TO STOP BEING SO CRYPTIC
I normally prefer something that makes me think and I would have liked to have had more science involved, but like a car wreck I could not stop listening. I usually hate books that lead you on, like this one does. Early on we are told it is not the army, it is something else. Several times Ash is told he is not ready to hear the truth, but the mystery is repeatedly dangled before us. It is chapter 40 , before Ash is told the truth and by then it is anti.-climatic. Matter of fact that is another weakness of the book. I so wish Battles could have come up with another reason for the virus, cause what he came up with borders on stupid. This book is less about science and more about conspiracies. Keep in mind I bought the other book after listening to this one. One other small thing, from someone who wears contacts. Someone who has never wore contacts, is not going to put a pair in for the first time and an hour later still have them in. You have to get used to them and that usually takes about a week.

Narrator is good, he has a kind of creepy voice. He does not do a lot of voices and his little girl voice is grating, but this book is not about character development, so that is not important. I think for this book he is great.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-12-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios