Sick : Project Eden

  • by Brett Battles
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • Series: Project Eden
  • 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles.
Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She's had them before. Yet he can't help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare. But the nightmare is his. It's real. And it's just beginning....
Something is burning Ash's daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners. Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn't the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house. But these aren't the good guys. They haven't come to save Ash's family. They've come to separate them, to finish what they started. The problem is, Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible. Because humanity is on the brink of execution. And man is pulling the trigger.

More

What the Critics Say

"Like a fever, Sick makes you sweat and keeps you up all night, wondering what the hell is happening. It'll make your heart race like someone shot you with an EpiPen. You think Battles was badass before? He just cranked it up to 500 joules. CLEAR!" (popculturenerd.com)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyably addictive story!

But be warned he doesn't actually end his books. I love the story and know a lot of people are leaving bad reviews because he stops in the middle, but deal with it. Its worth it. I basically listened back to back and they are great. I'm waiting for my last credit so I can get the next one. Characters are enjoyable, with the occasional "nobody would actually do that" thought but they are few and far between. Good apocalyptic biohazard end of humanity story. You will be hooked.
Read full review

- Amanda "Say something about yourself!"

Does Humanity Need a Do-Over?

I'd really give this a 3.75 stars. Although this is the first in a series it can stand alone if you don't want to continue, unlike book 2 which will drive you up a wall. I got this in a special and I wasn't disappointed. I like the concept of a group of people fighting against a global cabal that wants to kill off 99% of the population. Giving humanity a do-over of sorts. I liked the main story line of the father, Captain Ashe. I thought the narration was good. He did children okay, and women okay but not as good as the male characters. But that's to be expected it seems with male performers, they tend to make women sound whiny. I've gone on to Book 2 which I decided to spend a credit on. So I guess I fell into the trap with the discounted book...
Read full review

- Meghan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-12-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios