Sick : Project Eden

  • by Brett Battles
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • Series: Project Eden
  • 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles.
Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She's had them before. Yet he can't help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare. But the nightmare is his. It's real. And it's just beginning....
Something is burning Ash's daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners. Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn't the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house. But these aren't the good guys. They haven't come to save Ash's family. They've come to separate them, to finish what they started. The problem is, Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible. Because humanity is on the brink of execution. And man is pulling the trigger.

More

What the Critics Say

"Like a fever, Sick makes you sweat and keeps you up all night, wondering what the hell is happening. It'll make your heart race like someone shot you with an EpiPen. You think Battles was badass before? He just cranked it up to 500 joules. CLEAR!" (popculturenerd.com)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyably addictive story!

But be warned he doesn't actually end his books. I love the story and know a lot of people are leaving bad reviews because he stops in the middle, but deal with it. Its worth it. I basically listened back to back and they are great. I'm waiting for my last credit so I can get the next one. Characters are enjoyable, with the occasional "nobody would actually do that" thought but they are few and far between. Good apocalyptic biohazard end of humanity story. You will be hooked.
Read full review

- Amanda

Not a bad World's End entry, superb narration!

I bought this during an Audible 2-for-1 credit sale, and I've enjoyed it quite a bit. As a thriller, it's a solid story, fairly fun and a little bit different. MacLeod Andrews is well-above par as a narrator, and brings real life to the characters! The story is really just okay, the characters pretty standard. The Ewww Factor is very low for a novel which might be considered scifi/horror, and I don't recall much in the way of profanity, so it's probably okay for younger readers/listeners.

Mild criticisms would be that Battles bludgeons his readers with explanations. You know how a TV show will sometimes attempt to catch viewers up to a complicated plot point through character conversations? Battles does this with the narrative, and his characters take for-freaking-ever to come around to believing the incredulous parts of the story. I mean, maybe that's a shade of realism, but we've already bought a book about a evil cabal planning a world-ending virus; you don't have to keep selling it. Also, calling an adult woman (Chloe) "the girl" repeatedly is very annoying, and I don't quite understand why the main character (Daniel Ash) is referred to strictly by his surname, while almost everyone else is first name only. But that's just me.

This is the first of Brett Battles's books that I have read, but I see he cranks them out like wildfire. I won't leap onto the rest of this series right away, but I may pick one up again in the future.
Read full review

- Wild Wise Woman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-12-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios