Shake Down : Jack Davis

  • by Joel Goldman
  • Narrated by Kevin Foley
  • Series: Jack Davis
  • 10 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Crack. Rock. Crystal. Dead faces stand at city crossroads and sell their wares to the hopeless - the forgotten - in exchange for their souls.
The war isn't overseas. It isn't south of the border. It's in Everytown, USA. FBI Agent Jack Davis is neck deep in a dark urban war and it's not some pansy-ass X-Box Modern Warfare fantasy. He's caught in the crossfire of a war that rages on in the bleak and brutal streets.
And Jack is fighting another war; this one inside his body as a mysterious disorder makes him shake when he should shoot.
Jack's latest case sends him on a dark journey steeped in the stench of death and endangering his daughter. Critical information is leaking - no - pouring out of the case. He can't trust anyone as betrayal buries the truth in a deadly web of deception.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Shaky FBI agent

Shake Down is Book 1 in the three book Jack Davis Mysteries series. Jake Davis is a 50 year old FBI agent and team leader five years from retirement in Kansas City who has developed sporadic and debilitating full body tremors which cause him to be put on involuntary leave from his job. He is in the midst of a divorce after 24 years of marriage. His son was kidnapped and killed many years earlier and his problem child young adult daughter is dating a guy (an undercover FBI drug agent) her dad considers inappropriate. Davis is unwilling to stop independently investigating the major crime his team was working on when he was placed on leave. He is sort of dating Kate a divorced mother who is a jury consultant with expertise in micro facial expressions.

The paragraph above merely sets up the novel. The book is an excellent mystery/thriller. There are some unexpected twists and turns throughout the novel. Kevin Foley does a fine job of narration.

Read full review

- Wayne


Lots of killing. F word is used a lot. Not a storyline I could continue.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-23-2013
  • Publisher: ADM Enterprises, LLC