Shadow Pass : Inspector Pekkala

  • by Sam Eastland
  • Narrated by Paul Michael
  • Series: Inspector Pekkala
  • 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Pekkala: He was the Romanovs’ most trusted investigator. Now he’s Stalin’s greatest fear.
He operates in the shadows of one of history’s most notorious regimes. He seeks the truth in a nation where finding it can mean death—or worse. His name his Inspector Pekkala, and this time he’s taking on a case with implications far deadlier than anything he can imagine: a shattering revelation that was never meant to be unearthed.
Its official name is T-34, and this massive and mysterious new weapon is being developed in total secrecy in the Russian countryside, a thirty-ton killing machine. Its inventor, Colonel Rolan Nagorski, is a rogue genius whose macabre death is considered an accident only by the innocent.
And Josef Stalin is no innocent. Suspecting assassins everywhere, he brings in his best—if least obedient—detective to solve a murder that’s tantamount to treason. Answerable to no one, Pekkala has the dictator’s permission to go anywhere and interrogate anyone. But in Soviet Russia that’s easily a death sentence. The closer Pekkala gets to the answers, the more questions he uncovers—first and foremost, why is the state’s most dreaded female operative, Commissar Major Lysenkova, investigating the case when she’s only assigned to internal affairs?
Pekkala is on a collision course not only with the Soviet secret police but the USSR’s deepest military secrets. For what he is about to learn could put Stalin and his Communist state under for good—and bury Pekkala with them.
Brilliantly researched and rivetingly plotted, Shadow Pass is a superb story of suspense in a series growing only richer—and with a detective getting only better.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One of my Rare 5-Star Rating

I am a huge fan of this series and can't wait for the next book (The fourth book in the series - The Red Moth) to be released in audio. This book, Shadow Pass is the second in the series

It has already been published in print, Kindle and eBook formats, but audio is still in the works (HOPEFULLY).

I enjoyed the first Inspector Pekkala book, The Eye of the Red Tsar, and was anxiously anticipating this book. I was very much pleased with the outcome.

This book take Pekkala on a new mission with some of the same characters and also tells us a little more about the history of Pekkala. Like the entire series, the main theme or story revolves around actual history told through the eyes of a fictional character, Pekkala.

The narrator Paul Michael likewise does a fantastic job and I would happily choose another book given he is the narrator.

Overall HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! I would definitely recommend taking them in order.
Read full review

- Daniel McAfee

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-22-2011
  • Publisher: Random House Audio