Seven Ancient Wonders : Jack West Jr.

  • by Matthew Reilly
  • Narrated by Sean Mangan
  • Series: Jack West Jr.
  • 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Thousands of years ago, a magnificent golden capstone sat atop the Great Pyramid of Giza. It was a source of immense power, capable of bestowing upon its holder absolute global rule for a thousand years...But then, in 323 BC, the capstone was broken into seven pieces and spread to the corners of the Earth, hidden within the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World. Now, with the coming of a rare solar event, the time has come to locate the pieces and rebuild the capstone.

More

What the Critics Say

"A nonstop roller-coaster ride that lurches around the globe." (Publishers Weekly)
"A novel that grabs readers by the hand and pulls them along until they're out of breath. It is impossible (even for hard-core cynics) not to love this big, boisterous, action-filled adventure." (Booklist)

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What did they know back then which is lost now?

The Great Pyramid of Giza is the only surviving wonder of the seven in our day, however the whereabouts of its 9ft high golden capstone are unknown. Reilly's description and detail for each of the locations of the treasures is cinematic in its scale. Huge temples hidden beneath the earth, Waterfalls of flowing lava and booby-traps to rival the opening scene in Raiders of the lost arch. His vision of the Hanging Gardens of Babylon (the second oldest wonder to the Great Pyramid) is mind blowing and in typical Reilly fashion it is over sized and described in beautiful detail.

I only have only two issues with the story. Too soon into the tale the reader (in this case listener) is assumed to have made a connection with the characters, and the warmth and feelings he writes about are missed or over the top (this may just be me), with the details of the characters seeming secondary or lost to excellent detail he gives to his locations. The second issue I had (and this is not just with this book) is Reilly constantly repeating expressions. An example of this would be "A star shaped pool of blood" and "He fell like a marionette puppet with its strings cut" again this just maybe me but these fraises appeared at least 3 times each in this book.

Overall the premise of the story is fantastic and I feel the writing had more control to it than some of Reilly's original works. I would recommend this story to anyone who enjoys and Indiana Jones meets Tomb Raider plot. It will make you want to read/listen to the next two books in the series "The Six Sacred Stones" and "The Five Greatest Warriors".
Read full review

- Owen

Indiana Jones and The Da Vinci Code

Seven Ancient Wonders is Indiana Jones and The Da Vinci Code all rolled into one. A great action adventure story and better than the Scarecrow novels. Sean Mangan gives an excellent performance and the characters are awesome. Fans of Harry Potter, Dan Brown and the Indiana Jones movies should enjoy reading and listening to Seven Ancient Wonders by Matthew Reilly.
Read full review

- James

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-31-2008
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd