Regular price: $28.30

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.30

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Newly appointed CIA director Dr. Irene Kennedy is the target of an inside plot to destroy her and prematurely end the American President's term. To make matters worse, Saddam Hussein is close to entering the nuclear arms race - something Israel has vowed to stop. With the haunting specter of World War III looming, the president calls on his secret weapon: top counter-terrorism operative Mitch Rapp. But with only two weeks to take out the nukes, Rapp is up against a ticking clock - and impossible odds.
©2002 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"First-class political intrigue from a master storyteller." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 06-02-11

Narrator turns Rapp into a snooty, cranky man

This is the eleventh Vince Flynn book I've listened to, I saved it for last because of the poor reviews regarding the narrator. I couldn't finish it. He made all of the characters sound whiny, anxious and condescending including Mitch Rapp.
A snooty, anxious Rapp?!
Three years into my audible subscription this is only the second book I couldn't finish due to narration.
I'll get this installment on Rapp the old fashioned way I think, actual paper.

Read More Hide me

154 of 155 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Sally on 06-07-11

wasted money

I can't believe I am rating a Vince Flynn novel as one star but here it is. How sad. I have purchased this novel in paper but I hate to read, then I purchased it in an abridged format, YUK, and despite the reviews I was excited to get the entire thing read to me. NOT. This narrator is really bad. I can handle the narrative parts but when he does voices Mitch sounds like a whining 16 year old kid, Kennedy and all women sound the same, like old ladies. It is so bad it overpowers the excellence of this book. If this is your first audible purchase do not judge audible by this terrible production, it is rare to be this bad. To audible, either issue refunds or get this redone and offer to replace this fiasco. To Simon and Shuster audio, shame on you. This is really inexcusable.

Read More Hide me

119 of 121 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By gary on 12-19-12

Good story poor narrator

It's amazing how much a narrator can affect the enjoyment of a story.

I've read most of Vince Flynn's books & have listened to all of his books on audible. George Guidall is definitely the best for these books, he's a really good narrator & I've got a lot of other books that he's narrated. The first 2 Mich Rapp books & Term Limits were narrated by Nick Sullivan who was ok, but Ken Kilban's narration is very grating

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Robert Macdonald on 04-03-16

Good plot spoiled by awful narration

If you could sum up Separation of Power in three words, what would they be?

Could be better

Who was your favorite character and why?

Kennedy always seems to have that extra insight into the meanings of people's actions.

Would you be willing to try another one of Ken Kliban’s performances?

Will definitely avoid. Poor intonation, always seems as if a quiet statement is an argument. Dialogue perpetually ends on an upward inflection that I found initially irritating and eventually it spoiled the book. I won't listen to anything by this narrator again. Painful!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Craig on 11-20-17

Whiney Narrator

While the story line was to the usual high standard the narrator made all the characters sound like sniveling spineless individuals.

Read More Hide me
1 out of 5 stars
By Duncan Wilson on 09-20-17


Looking forward to the next instalment. Very disappointing. Narration was terrible and struggled to finish

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc