Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?
A bottle of bubble bath and colorful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.
When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying 'all debts paid', Detective Robyn Carter knows it's just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognizes the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.
With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.
With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.
The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed, and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it's too late?
A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first minute till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Karin Slaughter.
©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Angela M. Dokos on 06-10-17

Loved it!!!

Another great book from Carol Wyer. She is officially one of my favorite authors. It's not about figuring out who is doing the killing in this book, it's the how and who's next that keeps you intrigued.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Rosie on 07-08-17

Great plot - disappointing narration

What made the experience of listening to Secrets of the Dead the most enjoyable?

The plot was interesting although the police break with usual procedure constantly for no good reason.

Would you be willing to try another one of Emma Newman’s performances?

Really not sure. Her narration is stilted as if she's in primary school reading the story for the first time. Poor emphasis & inflection. It really detracts from the plot. I'm still halfway through the story & it's driving me mad. I rarely write review but just had to say something. I came believe that the 48 other reviewers thought this was adequate narration!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 10-28-17

loved it!!!

enjoyed this so much , brilliant and well written
can't wait for number three. superb character in Robyn.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Pamela on 08-27-17

Great Story

Shame about the reader better at 1.25 speed - perhaps she should read book first as seems to stumble

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 10-05-17

story Great, narrator not my cup of tea

I liked the story but found the narator to be not a great match for the story. narrator has a nice voice, but a bit boring for a thriller. seems more suited to children's books or educational.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By apple on 04-09-18

Great read, not so great narration

What made the experience of listening to Secrets of the Dead the most enjoyable?

Really enjoyed this story, the plot is strong with good characters and plenty of twists and turns. You feel the frustration of the detective.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Robyn Carter, the central character, is well drawn and easy to feel sympathy for.

Did Emma Newman do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

Not totally sold on the narration. At times it is a little monotone and doesn’t help the listener get a sense of characters emotions.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc