SPQR XIII: The Year of Confusion : SPQR

  • by John Maddox Roberts
  • Narrated by John Lee
  • Series: SPQR
  • 7 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Caius Julius Caesar, now Dictator of Rome, has decided to revise the Roman calendar, which has become out of sync with the seasons. As if this weren’t already an unpopular move, Caesar has brought in astronomers and astrologers from abroad, including Egyptians, Greeks, Indians, and Persians. Decius is appointed to oversee this project, which he knows rankles the Roman public: "To be told by a pack of Chaldeans and Egyptians how to conduct their duties towards the gods was intolerable." Not long after the new calendar project begins, two of the foreigners are murdered.
Decius begins his investigations and, as the body count increases, it seems that an Indian fortune-teller popular with patrician Roman ladies is also involved.
This latest in the acclaimed series is sure to please historical mystery fans.


What the Critics Say

"Readers looking for a crafty and entertaining journey to the past won’t be disappointed." (Publishers Weekly on SPQR XI: Under Vesuvius)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

please sir, i want some more

Would you listen to SPQR XIII: The Year of Confusion again? Why?

actually, I listen to all of them quite frequently. Along with S Holmes & N Wolf, they've gotten to be old friends.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

it's a bit long for one sitting, but would willingly put the disks into my player until I get where I'm going.

Any additional comments?

I'm hoping that there will be more, I've found a short story in an anthology and wishing that there are more of them and eventually they will find their way into a collection that I will be able to add to my library.

Read full review

- mcmouse

a great end to a very fun ride

This is actually review for the entire series, I read all books in the series back to back because they were just that good. Decius is smart funny loves to eat and drink and is very tongue and cheek. The Mysteries in this series always fun and the great way to learn about ancient Rome. These books are a great way to learn about the latter years of the Roman Republic which I have always found to be a bit confusing. You get to see these characters that most of us have read about in history classes like Caesar and Pompey and Cicero as people not just dried names on a page. You also get to see some of their flaws as well as their achievements. This is one of the best series I've read in a very long time and it comes highly recommended.

I normally hate books that change narrators part way through series but for some reason I gave this series a pass i chalk that up to exceptional writing because regardless of narrator the humor and sarcasm which I love comes through loud and clear.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-19-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios