Rumpole's Return

  • by John Mortimer
  • Narrated by Leo McKern
  • 2 hrs and 39 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"It's just no good. He can't fight it. He tells the police he's guilty. The bloody knife's in the dustbin. He's identified by at least three witnesses at the tube station and he writes some spooky letter in his victim's blood. The case is as dead as mutton."
"Just the sort of case Rumpole would have enjoyed."
And where is Rumpole, that eccentric barrister famous for his knowledge of bloodstains, blood groups, and forgery by typewriter? He is supposed by one and all to be enjoying his well-earned retirement in the Florida sunshine with his son, Nick; daughter-in-law, Erica; and, of course, She Who Must Be Obeyed. But Rumpole is made of sterner stuff, and the nearest whiff of a tricky blood case and he abandons the pleasure of Florida orange juice and descends on the dear old Chambers to take command once again.


Audible Editor Reviews

Rumpole is the astute, and often outlandish, London barrister who was created by real life English barrister John Mortimer in 1975.
In Rumpole’s Return, narrated with dramatic flourish by Leo McKern (and expert r roller of the tongue), our investigative hero is enjoying his retirement in the Florida sunshine. But Rumpole’s crafty legal services are desperately needed for a tough and bloody case that needs solving back in England.
Therefore, duty calls. And whether he likes it or not, our fair Rumpole leaves the sun and returns to Britain to find out if he is still the best crack sleuth this side of Sherlock Holmes.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Rumpole Forever

I love the Rumpole books and the TV series and the audio is excellent, especially as it is read by Leo McKern; Rumpole himself! Highly recommended for any Rumpole fan.
Read full review

- John Bull US


Narrator and story were both very wonderful. I really enjoy this one and often have it on, just as background noise.
Read full review

- Marjorie Armstrong

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-04-2010
  • Publisher: Audio Holdings, LLC